Early day motion 641

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes the significant personal sacrifice armed forces personnel make in their service to the nation once they take the oath or affirmation of allegiance to Her Majesty the Queen; acknowledges that ex-service personnel are proud to receive and wear Her Majesty's Veterans Badge, but notes that it is not awarded posthumously and it is considered by many to be insufficient recognition of the contribution veterans have made to the safety of the nation since the end of the Second World War; and therefore calls on the Government to rescind its decision not to recognise the veterans more appropriately by the award of a national defence medal and instead to establish a working group to work with the Committee on the Grant of Honours, Decorations and Medals with a view to implementing a national defence medal as soon as possible.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 54

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 54 out of 54

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Aldous, Peter Conservative Party Waveney 07.01.2015
Amess, David Conservative Party Southend West 18.12.2014
Blackman, Bob Conservative Party Harrow East 05.01.2015
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 17.12.2014
Brooke, Annette Liberal Democrats Mid Dorset and North Poole 17.12.2014
Campbell, Gregory Democratic Unionist Party Londonderry East 06.01.2015
Campbell, Menzies Liberal Democrats North East Fife 16.01.2015
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 07.01.2015
Carswell, Douglas UKIP Clacton 12.01.2015
Cash, William Conservative Party Stone 17.12.2014
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 06.01.2015
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 02.02.2015
Cooper, Rosie Labour Party West Lancashire 02.02.2015
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 17.12.2014
David, Wayne Labour Party Caerphilly 20.01.2015
Davies, Philip Conservative Party Shipley 06.01.2015
Ellman, Louise Labour Party Liverpool Riverside 12.01.2015
Engel, Natascha Labour Party North East Derbyshire 08.01.2015
Farron, Tim Liberal Democrats Westmorland and Lonsdale 08.01.2015
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 06.01.2015
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 05.01.2015
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 18.12.2014
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 14.01.2015
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 07.01.2015
Hunter, Mark Liberal Democrats Cheadle 18.12.2014
Kennedy, Charles Liberal Democrats Ross Skye and Lochaber 06.01.2015
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 08.01.2015
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 06.01.2015
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 17.12.2014
McInnes, Liz Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 05.01.2015
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 06.01.2015
Morden, Jessica Labour Party Newport East 26.01.2015
Morrice, Graeme Labour Party Livingston 02.02.2015
Munt, Tessa Liberal Democrats Wells Somerset 04.02.2015
Murphy, Paul Labour Party Torfaen 04.02.2015
Pugh, John Liberal Democrats Southport 22.01.2015
Qureshi, Yasmin Labour Party Bolton South East 05.01.2015
Reckless, Mark UKIP Rochester and Strood 20.01.2015
Robertson, John Labour Party Glasgow North West 13.01.2015
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 17.12.2014
Sanders, Adrian Liberal Democrats Torbay 06.01.2015
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 06.01.2015
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 06.01.2015
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 07.01.2015
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 04.02.2015
Smith, Chloe Conservative Party Norwich North 13.01.2015
Swales, Ian Liberal Democrats Redcar 12.01.2015
Walley, Joan Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent North 04.02.2015
Ward, David Liberal Democrats Bradford East 06.01.2015
Weir, Mike Scottish National Party Angus 18.12.2014
Whiteford, Eilidh Scottish National Party Banff and Buchan 05.01.2015
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 06.01.2015
Williamson, Chris Labour Party Derby North 13.01.2015
Wright, David Labour Party Telford 05.02.2015