Early day motion 731

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House expresses concern that funding for eye health research has hit crisis point; notes that already more than 40 people lose their sight every day in Britain, currently less than two per cent of combined national medical research funding is spent on the eye and that some three million over 65s, equating to one in six elderly people, will have a degree of sight loss by 2050 that will have a significant impact on their daily lives; further notes that sight loss currently costs the UK economy £22 billion annually and many of the 3.8 million people living with diabetes are at serious risk of poor eye health; and calls on the Government to make eye health a higher priority in the UK.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 31

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 31 out of 31

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 27.01.2015
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 26.01.2015
Brooke, Annette Liberal Democrats Mid Dorset and North Poole 26.01.2015
Campbell, Gregory Democratic Unionist Party Londonderry East 27.01.2015
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 28.01.2015
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 28.01.2015
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 28.01.2015
Donaldson, Jeffrey Democratic Unionist Party Lagan Valley 04.02.2015
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 27.01.2015
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 27.01.2015
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 03.02.2015
Hancock, Mike [R] INDEPENDENT Portsmouth South 28.01.2015
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 28.01.2015
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 05.02.2015
Hunter, Mark Liberal Democrats Cheadle 28.01.2015
Lavery, Ian Labour Party Wansbeck 29.01.2015
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 29.01.2015
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 28.01.2015
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 28.01.2015
McInnes, Liz Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 27.01.2015
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 28.01.2015
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 28.01.2015
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 26.01.2015
Ruane, Chris Labour Party Vale of Clwyd 03.02.2015
Sanders, Adrian Liberal Democrats Torbay 28.01.2015
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 27.01.2015
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 28.01.2015
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 27.01.2015
Ward, David Liberal Democrats Bradford East 28.01.2015
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 04.02.2015
Wright, David Labour Party Telford 28.01.2015