Early day motion 732

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House is deeply concerned by the severity of the downturn in the UK offshore oil industry resulting from the slump in oil prices; is alarmed that the industry's short-term responses have included delay and cancellation of long-term projects, laying off workers, extending working hours and attacking conditions of service; is dismayed that some employers see this crisis as an opportunity to accelerate cost-cutting recruitment practices and reduce essential maintenance work in the sector; opposes such short-term responses to the crisis which jeopardise tens of thousands of jobs, essential skills, infrastructure integrity and capacity and future tax revenues from this vital sector; believes that the Government should start work with all affiliates, including the Scottish Government and the Inter Union Offshore Committee, to agree and implement measures that preserve the sustainability of operations, jobs, skills and investment as well as a robust safety regime in the North Sea for the long-term; and calls on the Government to launch a public inquiry into the offshore energy industry in the UK Continental Shelf.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 17

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 17 out of 17

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 27.01.2015
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 26.01.2015
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 28.01.2015
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 26.01.2015
Cunningham, Alex Labour Party Stockton North 26.01.2015
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 29.01.2015
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 03.02.2015
Hancock, Mike INDEPENDENT Portsmouth South 28.01.2015
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 28.01.2015
Lavery, Ian Labour Party Wansbeck 27.01.2015
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 29.01.2015
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 26.01.2015
McGovern, Jim Labour Party Dundee West 28.01.2015
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 26.01.2015
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 28.01.2015
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 27.01.2015
Williamson, Chris Labour Party Derby North 28.01.2015