Early day motion 759

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House welcomes the release of Al-Jazeera journalist, Peter Greste, after 400 days in an Egyptian jail; commends the efforts of all those in Britain and internationally who have helped to raise the repression of journalists in Egypt, including the National Union of Journalists and the International Federation of Journalists; continues to urge the Egyptian authorities to release Mohamed Fahmy and Baher Mohamad along with the 10 local journalists who remain imprisoned; remains deeply concerned about the treatment of domestic journalists who are being targeted, threatened and attacked by the Egyptian government simply for trying to do their jobs; and calls on the Government to continue to make representations to bring to an end this travesty of justice and freedom of the press.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 20

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 20 out of 20

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Abbott, Diane Labour Party Hackney North and Stoke Newington 05.02.2015
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 05.02.2015
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 05.02.2015
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 04.02.2015
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 03.02.2015
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 03.02.2015
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 05.02.2015
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 04.02.2015
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 05.02.2015
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 04.02.2015
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 05.02.2015
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Kilburn 04.02.2015
Lavery, Ian Labour Party Wansbeck 03.02.2015
Lazarowicz, Mark Labour Party Edinburgh North and Leith 05.02.2015
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 03.02.2015
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 03.02.2015
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 03.02.2015
McInnes, Liz Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 05.02.2015
Rotheram, Steve Labour Party Liverpool Walton 04.02.2015
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Arfon 03.02.2015