Baroness O'Neill of Bengarve

Baroness O'Neill of Bengarve

Full title

The Baroness O'Neill of Bengarve CH CBE FBA


Onora O'Neill



Joined the Lords

25 February 1999

Contact details

House of Lords, London, SW1A 0PW
Tel: 020 7219 5353
Fax: 020 7219 5979


UK Parliament

Committee House Date
Sub-Committee on Lords' Conduct Lords 2010-
Science and Technology: Sub-Committee I Lords 2009-11
Select Committee on Science and Technology Sub-Committee 2 Lords 2008-09
BBC Charter Review Committee Lords 2005-06

Register of Interests

  • 2: Remunerated employment, office, profession etc.

    • Academic Auditor, Centre of the Study of Mind and Nature, University of Oslo, Norway
    • External Adviser to the Singapore National Bioethics Advisory Commission
    • Academic Evaluator, Institute of Philosophy, Groningen University, Netherlands
    • Member, Medical Research Council (and Chairman, Research Ethics Committee)
    • Chair, Equalities and Human Rights Commission
    • Academic Evaluator of Philosophy Research Programmes for Quality Assurance Netherlands Universities (QANU)
  • 8: Gifts, benefits and hospitality

    • Occasional attendance at breakfasts hosted by Royal College of Physicians which over the course of a calendar year could exceed £140 in value
  • 10: Non-financial interests (b)

    • Past President, British Academy (with various continuing involvements)
    • Past Principal, Newnham College (with various continuing involvements)
    • Professor Emeritus, University of Cambridge (with various continuing involvements)
    • Chair of Advisory Board, Institute of Philosophy, Institutes of Advanced Study, University of London
    • Member, "The Philosophers' Committee" on Human Rights, under the auspices of NYU's Global Institute for Advanced Study; unremunerated, but transatlantic fares covered
    • Member of the Panel for the Independent Surveillance Review (announced by the Deputy Prime Minister on 4 March 2014)
  • 10: Non-financial interests (c)

    • Trustee, American University of Sharjah
    • Member of Council, Royal Institute of Philosophy
  • 10: Non-financial interests (e)

    • Member of Council, Foundation for Science & Technology
    • Member, Advisory Group, Demos (think-tank)