Rt Hon Kenneth Clarke QC MP

Rt Hon Kenneth Clarke QC MP





Address as

Mr Clarke

Contact details


House of Commons, London, SW1A 0AA
Tel: 0207 219 5189
clarkek@parliament.uk; suggd@parliament.uk


Rushcliffe House, 17/19 Rectory Road, West Bridgford, Nottingham, NG2 6BE
Tel: 0115 981 7224

Web & Social media


Electoral history

Post Date
Member for Rushcliffe 1970-
Contested Mansfield General Election 1966
Contested Mansfield General Election 1964

Parliamentary career

Post Date
Minister without Portfolio (Cabinet Office) 2012-14
Secretary of State for Justice and Lord Chancellor 2010-12
Shadow Secretary of State 2009-10
Shadow Secretary of State (Business, Enterprise and Regulatory Reform) 2009-09
Chancellor of the Exchequer 1993-97
Home Secretary 1992-93
Secretary of State for Education and Science 1990-92
Secretary of State for Health 1988-90
Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster 1987-88
Minister of State (Department of Trade and Industry) 1987-88
Secretary of State for Employment 1985-87
Paymaster General (HM Treasury) 1985-87
Minister of State (Department of Health) 1982-85
Parliamentary Under-Secretary (Department for Transport) (Roads and Motoring) 1980-82
Shadow Spokesperson (Transport) 1979-80
Shadow Spokesperson (Trade and Industry) 1976-79
Lord Commissioner (HM Treasury) (Whip) 1974-74
Shadow Spokesperson (Work and Pensions) 1974-76
Assistant Whip (HM Treasury) 1972-74

Select committees

Post House Date
Tax Law Rewrite Bills (Joint Committee) (Chair) Commons 2003-09
Tax Law Rewrite Bills (Joint Committee) Commons 2002-09
House of Lords Reform (Joint Committee) Commons 2002-05

Political interests

Economic policy, National Health Service

General Election 2010 General Election - Rushcliffe

Name Party Votes Share Change
Clarke, Ken Con 27470 51.17% 3.1%
Khan, Karrar LD 11659 21.72% 4.4%
Clayworth, Andrew Lab 11128 20.73% -6.7%
Faithfull, Matthew UKIP 2179 4.06% 1.6%
Mallender, Richard Green 1251 2.33% -1.2%
Majority 15811 29.45%
Turnout 53687 73.59%
Electorate 72955
Result Con Hold

See Briefing Papers General Election 2010 for detailed results.