Rt Hon James Arbuthnot MP

Rt Hon James Arbuthnot MP


North East Hampshire



Address as

Mr Arbuthnot

Contact details


House of Commons, London, SW1A 0AA
Tel: 020 7219 4649
Fax: 020 7219 3910


North East Hampshire Conservative Association, The Mount, Bounty Road, Basingstoke, RG21 3DD
Tel: 01256 322207

Web & Social media


Electoral history

Post Date
Member for North East Hampshire 1997-
Member for Wanstead & Woodford 1987-97
Contested Cynon Valley By-election 1984
Contested Cynon Valley General Election 1983

Parliamentary career

Post Date
Shadow Minister (Trade and Industry) 2005-05
Shadow Secretary of State (Trade and Industry) 2003-05
Shadow Chief Whip (Commons) 1997-01
Minister of State (Ministry of Defence) (Procurement) 1995-97
Parliamentary Under-Secretary (Department of Social Security) 1994-95
Assistant Whip (HM Treasury) 1992-94

Select committees

Post House Date
Armed Forces Bill Committee Commons 2011-11
National Security Strategy (Joint Committee) Commons 2010-14
Liaison Committee (Commons) Commons 2005-14
Defence Committee (Chair) Commons 2005-14
Defence Committee Commons 2005-14
House of Lords Reform (Joint Committee) Commons 2002-03
Intelligence and Security (Joint Committee) Commons 2001-06

Political interests

Taxation, defence, foreign affairs, law

General Election 2010 General Election - North East Hampshire

Name Party Votes Share Change
Arbuthnot, James Con 32075 60.59% 7.5%
Coulson, Denzil LD 13478 25.46% -1.6%
Jones, Barry Lab 5173 9.77% -6.8%
Duffin, Ruth UKIP 2213 4.18% 0.9%
Majority 18597 35.13%
Turnout 52939 73.33%
Electorate 72196
Result Con Hold

See Briefing Papers General Election 2010 for detailed results.