Rt Hon Tom Clarke MP

Rt Hon Tom Clarke MP


Coatbridge, Chryston and Bellshill



Address as

Mr Clarke

Contact details


House of Commons, London, SW1A 0AA
Tel: 020 7219 6997
Fax: 020 7219 6094


Municipal Buildings, Kildonan Street, Coatbridge, ML5 3LF
Tel: 01236 600800
Fax: 01236 600808

Web & Social media


Electoral history

Post Date
Member for Coatbridge, Chryston and Bellshill 2005-
Member for Coatbridge & Chryston 1997-05
Member for Monklands West 1983-97
Member for Coatbridge & Airdrie 1982-83

Parliamentary career

Post Date
Minister of State (Department of National Heritage/Department for Culture, Media and Sport) 1997-98
Shadow Cabinet Minister for Disabled Peoples' Rights 1995-97
Shadow Secretary of State for International Development 1993-94
Shadow Secretary of State for Scotland 1992-93
Shadow Minister (Disability) 1987-92

Select committees

Post House Date
Standards Committee Commons 2013-
Privileges Committee Commons 2013-
Draft House of Lords Reform Bill (Joint Committee) Commons 2011-12
Standards and Privileges Commons 2010-13
Administration Committee Commons 2008-10
Draft Disability Discrimination Bill (Joint Committee) Commons 2004-04
Health Committee Commons 1991-92
Scottish Affairs Committee Commons 1982-87

Political interests

Film industry, foreign affairs, disability rights, civil service, local and regional government, international development

Countries of interest

Africa, Central America, Asia, Eastern Europe, Gulf States, Indonesia, Peru, Philippines, South Africa, USA

General Election 2010 General Election - Coatbridge, Chryston and Bellshill

Name Party Votes Share Change
Clarke, Tom Lab 27728 66.60% 2.1%
McGlinchey, Frances SNP 7014 16.85% 3.3%
Elder, Kenneth LD 3519 8.45% -3.6%
Houston, Fiona Con 3374 8.10% 0.9%
Majority 20714 49.75%
Turnout 41635 59.42%
Electorate 70067
Result Lab Hold

See Briefing Papers General Election 2010 for detailed results.