Parliamentary business for Tuesday 4 November 2014

  < Nov 2014 >
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Week beginning 27 October 27 28 29 30 31 1 2
Week beginning 3 November 3 4 5 6 7 8 9
Week beginning 10 November 10 11 12 13 14 15 16
Week beginning 17 November 17 18 19 20 21 22 23
Week beginning 24 November 24 25 26 27 28 29 30
Week beginning 1 December 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Click on the Right arrow to select a week.
Subject: Personal, Social, Health and Economic Education and Sex and Relationships Education in Schools
Witness(es): Dr Graham Ritchie, Principal Policy Advisor, Office of the Children's Commissioner, Sarah Carter, Trustee, Family Education Trust, Joe Hayman, Chief Executive, PSHE Association and Natasha Browne, Former Chair, Youth Select Committee on "A Curriculum for Life"; Crispin Drummond, Explore-Students Exploring Marriage, Michael Mercieca, Chief Executive, Young Enterprise, Dr Ann Hoskins, Deputy Director Health and Wellbeing, Public Health England and Michael O'Toole, Chief Executive, Mentor
Location: Room 6, Palace of Westminster
9.30amHigh Speed Rail (London-West Midlands) Bill
Subject: High Speed Rail (London-West Midlands) Bill
Witness(es): Lea Marston Parish Council
Location: Room 5, Palace of Westminster
Subject: Proposals for further fiscal and economic devolution to Scotland
Witness(es): Dr Angus Armstrong, Director of Macroeconomic Research, National Institute of Economic and Social Research and Professor Alan Trench, University College London Constitution Unit; Edward Troup, Tax Assurance Commissioner and second Permanent Secretary, HM Revenue and Customs and Sarah Walker, Deputy Director, Devolution, HM Revenue and Customs
Location: Room 16, Palace of Westminster
10amPublic Administration
Subject: Whitehall: capacity to address future challenges
Witness(es): Professor Robert Hazell CBE, Director, University College London Constitution Unit, James Lloyd, Director, Strategic Society Centre, Iain Gray CBE, Chief Executive, Innovate UK, Technology Strategy Board and Robert Chote, Chairman, Office for Budget Responsibility; Professor Michael Clarke, Director General, Royal United Services Institute for Defence and Security Studies, Simon Gillespie, Chief Executive, British Heart Foundation and Professor Dame Julia Slingo OBE, Chief Scientist, The Met Office
Location: Room 8, Palace of Westminster
10amNorthern Ireland Affairs
Subject: Administrative scheme for “on-the-runs”
Witness(es): Lord Mandelson, former Secretary of State for Northern Ireland
Location: The Thatcher Room, Portcullis House
10.30amCulture, Media and Sport
Subject: One-Off Session with Ofcom
Witness(es): Ed Richards and Dame Patricia Hodgson
Location: The Grimond Room, Portcullis House
10.30amEnergy and Climate Change
Subject: Network costs
Witness(es): Dermot Nolan, Chief Executive Officer, Ofgem, Martin Crouch, Ofgem Senior Partner, Transmission, Smarter Grids & Governance: Transmission and Maxine Frerk, Interim Senior Partner for Smarter Grids and Governance: Distribution, Ofgem; Rt Hon. Matthew Hancock MP, Department of Energy and Climate Change and John Fiennes, Director, Energy Strategy Networks and Markets, Department of Energy and Climate Change
Location: The Wilson Room, Portcullis House
12.35pmEuropean Scrutiny
Subject: Revised UK Contribution to the EU Budget
Witness(es): David Gauke MP, Financial Secretary, HM Treasury
Location: Room 15, Palace of Westminster
12.45pmCommittee on Standards: Standards Review Sub-Committee
Subject: The Standards System in the House of Commons
Witness(es): Professor Sir Peter Rubin, Chair, General Medical Council, Gordon Hockey, Registrar, Royal College of Veterinary Surgeons, Charles Plant, Chair, Solicitors Regulation Authority Board and Paul Philip, Chief Executive, Solicitors Regulation Authority
Location: Room 18, Palace of Westminster
1pmBackbench Business
Subject: Proposals for backbench debates
Witness(es): Members of Parliament
Location: Room 16, Palace of Westminster
2pmNorthern Ireland Affairs
Subject: Administrative scheme for “on-the-runs”
Witness(es): Drew Harris OBE, Deputy Chief Constable, Police Service of Northern Ireland
Location: Room 8, Palace of Westminster
2.15pmCommunities and Local Government
Subject: Community Rights
Witness(es): Dr Freddie Gick, Chair, Civic Voice, Janice Banks, Chief Executive, Action With Communities in Rural England (ACRE) and Mike Perry, Head of Development and Policy, Plunkett Foundation; Councillor Jeremy Rowe, Deputy Leader, Cornwall Council, Ross Murray, Deputy President, Country Land and Business Association and David Bowater, Senior Corporate Advisor, Wiltshire Council
Location: Room 17, Palace of Westminster
2.30pmForeign Affairs
Subject: The UK's relations with Hong Kong: 30 years after the Joint Declaration
Witness(es): Rt Hon Lord Patten of Barnes CH; Professor Niv Horesh, Professor of the Modern History of China and Director of the China Policy Institute, University of Nottingham and Dr Malte Kaeding, Lecturer in International Relations, University of Surrey
Location: The Grimond Room, Portcullis House
Subject: Integrated Care Pioneers
Witness(es): Rt Hon Norman Lamb MP, Minister of State, Department of Health, Clara Swinson, Director of Social Care Policy, Department of Health and Ian Dodge, National Director, Commissioning Strategy, NHS England
Location: The Thatcher Room, Portcullis House
2.45pmHome Affairs
Subject: Regulation of Investigatory Powers Act 2000
Witness(es): Sir Paul Kennedy, Interception of Communications Commissioner; Michelle Stanistreet, General Secretary, National Union of Journalists; Deputy Assistant Commissioner Maxine De Brunner, National Lead for Lawful Intercept, Chief Constable Mick Creedon, Derbyshire Police and Assistant Chief Constable Richard Berry, National Policing Lead for Communications Data
Location: The Wilson Room, Portcullis House
4.30pmHouse of Commons Governance
Subject: House of Commons Governance
Witness(es): Dame Janet Gaymer DBE QC, External member and acting Chair, House of Commons Management Board, Barbara Scott, external member, House of Commons Management Board and Alex Jablonowski, former external member, House of Commons Management Board; Rt Hon Peter Hain MP, Rt Hon David Blunkett MP, Mr Bernard Jenkin MP and Rt Hon Margaret Hodge MBE MP
Location: Room 6, Palace of Westminster
Central Lobby

Parliamentary Calendar

Parliamentary Calendar allows you to find out what's on in Parliament.