Result of the Private Members' Bill ballot: Session 2014-15

The 20 successful MPs are given priority in presenting a Bill of their choice and putting it down for second reading on one of the Private Members' Bills Fridays.

The Bills of the MPs successful in the ballot are formally presented in the House on the fifth sitting Wednesday of a session, 2 July 2014. In general, only the titles of the Bills are known at this stage, the texts may not appear in print until some time after this date.

The Private Members' Bills ballot for the 2014-15 session took place on Thursday 12 June 2014

Ballot Results

The 20 MPs successful in the ballot were as follows:

1.   Andrew George, Liberal Democrat MP for St Ives

2.   Michael Moore, Liberal Democrat MP for Berwickshire, Roxburgh and Selkirk

3.   Robert Neill, Conservative MP for Bromley and Chislehurst

4.   Richard Bacon, Conservative MP for South Norfolk

5.   Jeremy Lefroy, Conservative MP for Stafford

6.   Clive Efford, Labour MP for Eltham

7.   Sarah Teather, Liberal Democrat MP for Brent Central

8.   Julian Sturdy, Conservative MP for York Outer

9.   Mr Mark Spencer, Conservative MP for Sherwood

10. Jonathan Evans, Conservative MP for Cardiff North

11. Ian Mearns, Labour MP for Gateshead

12. Dan Jarvis, Labour MP for Barnsley Central

13. Jake Berry, Conservative MP for Rossendale and Darwen

14. Andrew Bingham, Conservative MP for High Peak

15. Yvonne Fovargue, Labour MP for Makerfield

16. John Hemming, Liberal Democrat MP for Birmingham Yardley

17. Mr Christopher Chope, Conservative MP for Christchurch

18. Mark Lazarowicz, Labour (Co-op) MP for Edinburgh North and Leith

19. David Davis,Conservative MP for Haltemprice and Howden

20. Martin Horwood, Liberal Democrat MP for Cheltenham 

Sitting Fridays 2014-15

For information on when the House of Commons will sit on Fridays in the 2014-15 session to consider Private Members' Bills see:

Related information

For information on the progress of Private Members' Bills, including ballot Bills

For information on Private Members' Bill procedure and practice, and on ballot bills in previous sessions

Related information

House of Commons Information Office

Contact details

Telephone enquiry service is open between 10am-12 midday and 2pm-4pm (Monday to Friday).


The HCIO produces a number of publications that include:

House of Commons on Twitter

Follow @HouseofCommons for updates on the UK House of Commons Chamber.