Ecclesiastical Committee

The Ecclesiastical Committee is a statutory committee appointed under the Church of England Assembly (Powers) Act 1919. It comprises thirty members, fifteen of whom are Members of Parliament and fifteen of whom are members of the House of Lords, all appointed by the Lord Speaker.

Appointments to the committee are generally made early in a Parliament. Unless the Lord Speaker decides otherwise, members appointed by them remain on the Committee for the life of the Parliament.

While its powers are those laid down by the Act, its procedures are those of a Joint Select Committee.


The Ecclesiastical Committee examines draft Measures presented to it by the Legislative Committee of the General Synod of the Church of England. It reports to Parliament on whether or not it considers the measures to be expedient.

It will generally ask members of the General Synod to assist it in its deliberations. In some circumstances a conference of the Ecclesiastical Committee and the Legislative Committee may be convened.

Committee news