Early day motion 1073

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House salutes the high level of skill and competence of River Thames Watermen holding boatmasters' licences plying their trade on one of Europe's most congested waterways; acknowledges that the river is unique in Europe as the conduit for a lethal cocktail of a large tonnage of goods and many frail pleasure craft; welcomes the opportunity through the current review to act upon concerns raised through the Transport Select Committee's investigation and from experiences of boatmasters nationally; is concerned that current proposals have not enjoyed the full consideration of stakeholders and would further reduce safety standards on the UK's inland waterways as experience requirements are proposed to be reduced by as much as 80 per cent.; requests that the Government fulfil assurances given in 2006 that there would be no watering down of safety standards; and calls on the Government to confirm the highest of standards for qualifying to command vessels on the tidal River Thames.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 45

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 45 out of 45

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Amess, David Conservative Party Southend West 11.03.2010
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 12.03.2010
Brake, Tom Liberal Democrats Carshalton and Wallington 23.03.2010
Brazier, Julian Conservative Party Canterbury 11.03.2010
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 17.03.2010
Cryer, Ann Labour Party Keighley 15.03.2010
Cummings, John Labour Party Easington 17.03.2010
Davey, Edward Liberal Democrats Kingston and Surbiton 18.03.2010
Dean, Janet Labour Party Burton 16.03.2010
Dismore, Andrew Labour Party Hendon 16.03.2010
Etherington, Bill Labour Party Sunderland North 23.03.2010
Evennett, David Conservative Party Bexleyheath and Crayford 11.03.2010
Field, Mark Conservative Party Cities of London and Westminster 11.03.2010
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 16.03.2010
Gray, James Conservative Party North Wiltshire 16.03.2010
Greening, Justine Conservative Party Putney 11.03.2010
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 15.03.2010
Hands, Greg Conservative Party Hammersmith and Fulham 11.03.2010
Harvey, Nick Liberal Democrats North Devon 15.03.2010
Hoey, Kate Labour Party Vauxhall 22.03.2010
Holloway, Adam Conservative Party Gravesham 11.03.2010
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 15.03.2010
Hoyle, Lindsay Labour Party Chorley 17.03.2010
Hughes, Simon Liberal Democrats North Southwark and Bermondsey 11.03.2010
Jenkins, Brian Labour Party Tamworth 24.03.2010
Jones, Lynne Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 15.03.2010
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 16.03.2010
Mackinlay, Andrew Labour Party Thurrock 11.03.2010
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 22.03.2010
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 16.03.2010
Moss, Malcolm Conservative Party North East Cambridgeshire 18.03.2010
Neill, Robert Conservative Party Bromley and Chislehurst 11.03.2010
Owen, Albert Labour Party Ynys Môn 18.03.2010
Pelling, Andrew INDEPENDENT Croydon Central 07.04.2010
Prosser, Gwyn Labour Party Dover 15.03.2010
Rifkind, Malcolm Conservative Party Kensington and Chelsea 11.03.2010
Robertson, Hugh Conservative Party Faversham and Mid Kent 11.03.2010
Rosindell, Andrew Conservative Party Romford 22.03.2010
Simpson, Alan Labour Party Nottingham South 24.03.2010
Spink, Bob INDEPENDENT Castle Point 15.03.2010
Swayne, Desmond Conservative Party New Forest West 25.03.2010
Vis, Rudi Labour Party Finchley and Golders Green 16.03.2010
Watkinson, Angela Conservative Party Upminster 11.03.2010
Widdecombe, Ann Conservative Party Maidstone and the Weald 11.03.2010
Wyatt, Derek Labour Party Sittingbourne and Sheppey 11.03.2010