Early day motion 184

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House recognises that walking to school can improve the physical and mental health of children, young people, parents and carers, provides the opportunity for parents and carers to spend quality time with their children and reduces carbon emissions and congestion; notes Living Streets' report Putting Pupils First and its recommendations to make the walk to school safer and easier and the success of the Living Streets Walk to School campaign in encouraging increased numbers of children, young people, parents and carers to walk to school; and calls on the Government to develop a fully resourced cross-Government national action plan for sustainable school travel as part of a national strategy to support walking with clear ministerial leadership including the promotion of practical measures including walking zones, Park and Stride and School Route Audits and tackling policy and legislative barriers to walking including inconsiderate parking, the provision of safe crossing points and slower vehicle speeds.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 51

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 51 out of 51

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Abbott, Diane Labour Party Hackney North and Stoke Newington 14.07.2014
Bayley, Hugh Labour Party York Central 21.07.2014
Betts, Clive Labour Party Sheffield South East 07.07.2014
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 30.06.2014
Brown, Nicholas Labour Party Newcastle upon Tyne East 01.09.2014
Clarke, Tom Labour Party Coatbridge Chryston and Bellshill 08.07.2014
Cooper, Rosie Labour Party West Lancashire 13.10.2014
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 08.07.2014
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 10.07.2014
Donaldson, Jeffrey Democratic Unionist Party Lagan Valley 10.07.2014
Dowd, Jim Labour Party Lewisham West and Penge 09.07.2014
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 30.06.2014
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 02.07.2014
Esterson, Bill Labour Party Sefton Central 16.07.2014
Farron, Tim Liberal Democrats Westmorland and Lonsdale 08.07.2014
Fitzpatrick, Jim Labour Party Poplar and Limehouse 14.07.2014
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 01.07.2014
Gilmore, Sheila Labour Party Edinburgh East 01.09.2014
Glass, Pat Labour Party North West Durham 22.07.2014
Hancock, Mike INDEPENDENT Portsmouth South 08.07.2014
Hoey, Kate Labour Party Vauxhall 16.07.2014
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 30.06.2014
Horwood, Martin Liberal Democrats Cheltenham 08.07.2014
Huppert, Julian Liberal Democrats Cambridge 21.07.2014
Jowell, Tessa Labour Party Dulwich and West Norwood 21.07.2014
Lazarowicz, Mark Labour Party Edinburgh North and Leith 17.07.2014
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 02.07.2014
Long, Naomi Alliance Party Belfast East 02.07.2014
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 07.07.2014
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 03.07.2014
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 30.06.2014
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 22.07.2014
Mulholland, Greg Liberal Democrats Leeds North West 26.06.2014
Murphy, Paul Labour Party Torfaen 22.07.2014
Qureshi, Yasmin Labour Party Bolton South East 01.09.2014
Reid, Alan Liberal Democrats Argyll and Bute 07.07.2014
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 02.07.2014
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 26.06.2014
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 15.07.2014
Sheerman, Barry Labour Party Huddersfield 02.09.2014
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 01.07.2014
Streeter, Gary Conservative Party South West Devon 08.07.2014
Stringer, Graham Labour Party Blackley and Broughton 14.07.2014
Stunell, Andrew Liberal Democrats Hazel Grove 10.07.2014
Vaz, Valerie Labour Party Walsall South 09.07.2014
Walley, Joan Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent North 08.07.2014
Ward, David Liberal Democrats Bradford East 30.06.2014
Watts, Dave Labour Party St Helens North 08.07.2014
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 07.07.2014
Williamson, Chris Labour Party Derby North 13.10.2014
Wood, Mike Labour Party Batley and Spen 15.07.2014