Early day motion 190

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House expresses concern about the imprisonment of Chinese human rights lawyer Gao Zhisheng and the lack of information about his physical and psychological wellbeing; notes that as a result of his work advocating for victims of human rights violations, including religious minorities, Mr Zhisheng has disappeared and been imprisoned and tortured; further notes that the United Nations Working Group on Arbitrary Detention found Mr Zhisheng's detention to be a violation of international law; recognises that according to the calculations of some legal experts, Mr Zhisheng should be released on 22 August 2014; and calls for the timely and unconditional release of Mr Zhisheng without any further restrictions on his personal freedoms.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 67

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 67 out of 67

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Abbott, Diane Labour Party Hackney North and Stoke Newington 07.07.2014
Amess, David Conservative Party Southend West 08.07.2014
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 07.07.2014
Baldry, Tony Conservative Party Banbury 02.07.2014
Begg, Anne Labour Party Aberdeen South 08.07.2014
Beith, Alan Liberal Democrats Berwick-Upon-Tweed 21.07.2014
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 30.06.2014
Brooke, Annette Liberal Democrats Mid Dorset and North Poole 15.07.2014
Bruce, Fiona Conservative Party Congleton 08.07.2014
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 16.07.2014
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 27.10.2014
Clwyd, Ann Labour Party Cynon Valley 09.07.2014
Connarty, Michael Labour Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 01.07.2014
Cooper, Rosie Labour Party West Lancashire 16.07.2014
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 03.07.2014
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 08.07.2014
Crockart, Mike Liberal Democrats Edinburgh West 08.07.2014
Cunningham, Alex Labour Party Stockton North 14.07.2014
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 14.07.2014
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 09.07.2014
Donaldson, Jeffrey Democratic Unionist Party Lagan Valley 10.07.2014
Doran, Frank Labour Party Aberdeen North 22.07.2014
Dowd, Jim Labour Party Lewisham West and Penge 09.07.2014
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 30.06.2014
Evans, Jonathan Conservative Party Cardiff North 08.07.2014
Farron, Tim Liberal Democrats Westmorland and Lonsdale 17.07.2014
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 02.07.2014
Gilbert, Stephen Liberal Democrats St Austell and Newquay 16.07.2014
Glass, Pat Labour Party North West Durham 01.09.2014
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 03.07.2014
Hamilton, Fabian Labour Party Leeds North East 16.07.2014
Hancock, Mike INDEPENDENT Portsmouth South 08.07.2014
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 08.07.2014
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 01.07.2014
Hoey, Kate Labour Party Vauxhall 09.07.2014
Horwood, Martin Liberal Democrats Cheltenham 22.07.2014
Huppert, Julian Liberal Democrats Cambridge 01.09.2014
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Kilburn 07.07.2014
Joyce, Eric INDEPENDENT Falkirk 01.09.2014
Lavery, Ian Labour Party Wansbeck 15.07.2014
Lazarowicz, Mark Labour Party Edinburgh North and Leith 07.07.2014
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 02.07.2014
Lewis, Julian Conservative Party New Forest East 01.07.2014
Long, Naomi Alliance Party Belfast East 02.07.2014
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 07.07.2014
MacNeil, Angus Scottish National Party Na h-Eileanan an Iar 10.07.2014
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 03.07.2014
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 01.07.2014
Neill, Robert Conservative Party Bromley and Chislehurst 07.07.2014
O'Donnell, Fiona Labour Party East Lothian 27.10.2014
Reevell, Simon Conservative Party Dewsbury 15.07.2014
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 02.07.2014
Robertson, Laurence Conservative Party Tewkesbury 08.07.2014
Roy, Lindsay Labour Party Glenrothes 01.09.2014
Sanders, Adrian Liberal Democrats Torbay 10.07.2014
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 01.07.2014
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 08.07.2014
Stunell, Andrew Liberal Democrats Hazel Grove 22.07.2014
Tami, Mark Labour Party Alyn and Deeside 14.07.2014
Vaz, Valerie Labour Party Walsall South 01.09.2014
Walley, Joan Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent North 08.07.2014
Ward, David Liberal Democrats Bradford East 01.07.2014
Watts, Dave Labour Party St Helens North 14.07.2014
Whiteford, Eilidh Scottish National Party Banff and Buchan 09.07.2014
Williams, Roger Liberal Democrats Brecon and Radnorshire 01.09.2014
Wilson, Sammy Democratic Unionist Party East Antrim 09.07.2014
Wishart, Pete Scottish National Party Perth and North Perthshire 08.07.2014