Early day motion 27

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes that regulations from 1986 mean it is still the case that the particulars to be registered for a marriage include details of the fathers and not the mothers of the bride and groom; believes our law should not perpetuate the offensive and outdated message that marriage is a business transaction between fathers; further notes that both mothers and fathers are recorded on a civil partnership certificate and believes the same should be the case on a marriage certificate; further believes that change is needed so that mothers are no longer erased from these important historical records; and calls on the Secretary of State for the Home Department to bring forward the necessary legislative proposals without delay.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 114

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 114 out of 114

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Abbott, Diane Labour Party Hackney North and Stoke Newington 14.07.2014
Barron, Kevin Labour Party Rother Valley 01.07.2014
Bayley, Hugh Labour Party York Central 11.06.2014
Begg, Anne Labour Party Aberdeen South 04.06.2014
Benton, Joe Labour Party Bootle 04.06.2014
Betts, Clive Labour Party Sheffield South East 09.06.2014
Blomfield, Paul Labour Party Sheffield Central 05.06.2014
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 04.06.2014
Brady, Graham Conservative Party Altrincham and Sale West 04.06.2014
Bridgen, Andrew Conservative Party North West Leicestershire 24.06.2014
Brooke, Annette Liberal Democrats Mid Dorset and North Poole 12.06.2014
Brown, Nicholas Labour Party Newcastle upon Tyne East 01.09.2014
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 11.06.2014
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 04.06.2014
Champion, Sarah Labour Party Rotherham 12.06.2014
Chapman, Jenny Labour Party Darlington 18.06.2014
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 04.06.2014
Cooper, Rosie Labour Party West Lancashire 12.06.2014
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 04.06.2014
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 12.06.2014
Crouch, Tracey Conservative Party Chatham and Aylesford 12.06.2014
Cryer, John Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 23.06.2014
Cunningham, Tony Labour Party Workington 25.06.2014
Davies, David TC Conservative Party Monmouth 26.06.2014
Davies, Geraint Labour Party Swansea West 16.06.2014
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 11.06.2014
Dowd, Jim Labour Party Lewisham West and Penge 17.06.2014
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 04.06.2014
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 05.06.2014
Ellman, Louise Labour Party Liverpool Riverside 18.06.2014
Evans, Jonathan Conservative Party Cardiff North 17.06.2014
Farrelly, Paul Labour Party Newcastle-under-Lyme 10.06.2014
Farron, Tim Liberal Democrats Westmorland and Lonsdale 18.06.2014
Field, Frank Labour Party Birkenhead 16.06.2014
Fitzpatrick, Jim Labour Party Poplar and Limehouse 10.06.2014
Flello, Robert Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent South 02.07.2014
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 12.06.2014
Gapes, Mike Labour Party Ilford South 09.06.2014
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 04.06.2014
Gilmore, Sheila Labour Party Edinburgh East 08.07.2014
Glass, Pat Labour Party North West Durham 09.06.2014
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 05.06.2014
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 04.06.2014
Goldsmith, Zac Conservative Party Richmond Park 11.06.2014
Griffith, Nia Labour Party Llanelli 04.06.2014
Hamilton, Fabian Labour Party Leeds North East 18.06.2014
Hancock, Mike INDEPENDENT Portsmouth South 17.06.2014
Harris, Tom Labour Party Glasgow South 09.06.2014
Harvey, Nick Liberal Democrats North Devon 24.06.2014
Havard, Dai Labour Party Merthyr Tydfil and Rhymney 18.06.2014
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 09.06.2014
Hepburn, Stephen Labour Party Jarrow 09.06.2014
Heyes, David Labour Party Ashton under Lyne 16.06.2014
Hoey, Kate Labour Party Vauxhall 09.06.2014
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 04.06.2014
Horwood, Martin Liberal Democrats Cheltenham 10.06.2014
Huppert, Julian Liberal Democrats Cambridge 04.06.2014
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Kilburn 05.06.2014
Johnson, Alan Labour Party Kingston upon Hull West and Hessle 05.06.2014
Kaufman, Gerald Labour Party Manchester Gorton 05.06.2014
Kennedy, Charles Liberal Democrats Ross Skye and Lochaber 02.07.2014
Lavery, Ian Labour Party Wansbeck 12.06.2014
Lazarowicz, Mark Labour Party Edinburgh North and Leith 10.06.2014
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 09.06.2014
Lefroy, Jeremy Conservative Party Stafford 09.07.2014
Leslie, Charlotte Conservative Party Bristol North West 19.06.2014
Lewis, Julian Conservative Party New Forest East 04.06.2014
Lloyd, Stephen Liberal Democrats Eastbourne 23.06.2014
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 09.06.2014
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 04.06.2014
Main, Anne Conservative Party St Albans 09.07.2014
McDonagh, Siobhain Labour Party Mitcham and Morden 01.09.2014
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 11.06.2014
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 09.06.2014
Meacher, Michael Labour Party Oldham West and Royton 10.07.2014
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 09.06.2014
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 11.06.2014
Morrice, Graeme Labour Party Livingston 04.06.2014
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 04.06.2014
Mudie, George Labour Party Leeds East 16.06.2014
Mulholland, Greg Liberal Democrats Leeds North West 26.06.2014
Owen, Albert Labour Party Ynys Môn 16.06.2014
Pugh, John Liberal Democrats Southport 30.06.2014
Qureshi, Yasmin Labour Party Bolton South East 04.06.2014
Reid, Alan Liberal Democrats Argyll and Bute 14.07.2014
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 09.06.2014
Rotheram, Steve Labour Party Liverpool Walton 11.06.2014
Roy, Lindsay Labour Party Glenrothes 12.06.2014
Ruane, Chris Labour Party Vale of Clwyd 17.06.2014
Ruddock, Joan Labour Party Lewisham Deptford 04.06.2014
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 04.06.2014
Sheerman, Barry Labour Party Huddersfield 10.06.2014
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 01.07.2014
Smith, Chloe Conservative Party Norwich North 04.06.2014
Streeter, Gary Conservative Party South West Devon 23.06.2014
Stringer, Graham Labour Party Blackley and Broughton 01.09.2014
Stunell, Andrew Liberal Democrats Hazel Grove 16.06.2014
Sutcliffe, Gerry Labour Party Bradford South 17.06.2014
Tami, Mark Labour Party Alyn and Deeside 09.06.2014
Teather, Sarah Liberal Democrats Brent Central 24.06.2014
Thornton, Mike Liberal Democrats Eastleigh 09.06.2014
Twigg, Stephen Labour Party Liverpool West Derby 22.07.2014
Vaz, Valerie Labour Party Walsall South 04.06.2014
Walley, Joan Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent North 04.06.2014
Walter, Robert Conservative Party North Dorset 16.06.2014
Ward, David Liberal Democrats Bradford East 12.06.2014
Watts, Dave Labour Party St Helens North 09.06.2014
Weatherley, Mike Conservative Party Hove 18.06.2014
White, Chris Conservative Party Warwick and Leamington 03.07.2014
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Arfon 09.06.2014
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 16.06.2014
Williams, Roger Liberal Democrats Brecon and Radnorshire 04.06.2014
Williamson, Chris Labour Party Derby North 04.06.2014
Wood, Mike Labour Party Batley and Spen 04.06.2014