Rt Hon Sir George Young MP

Rt Hon Sir George Young MP


North West Hampshire



Address as

Sir George

Contact details


2 Church Close, Andover, SP10 1DP
Tel: 01264 401401


House of Commons, London, SW1A 0AA
Tel: 020 7219 6665

Web & Social media


Electoral history

Post Date
Member for North West Hampshire 1997-
Member for Ealing, Acton 1974-97

Parliamentary career

Post Date
Parliamentary Secretary to the Treasury and Chief Whip 2012-14
Leader of the House of Commons and Lord Privy Seal 2010-12
Shadow Leader of the House of Commons 2009-10
Shadow Secretary of State 1999-00
Shadow Leader of the House of Commons 1998-00
Shadow Secretary of State for Defence 1997-98
Secretary of State for Transport 1995-97
Financial Secretary (HM Treasury) 1994-95
Minister (Department of Environment) (Housing) 1990-94
Comptroller (HM Household) (Deputy Chief Whip, House of Commons) 1990-90
Parliamentary Under-Secretary (Department of Environment) 1981-86
Parliamentary Under-Secretary (Department of Health and Social Security) 1979-81

Select committees

Post House Date
Public Accounts Commission Commons 2010-12
Speaker's Committee for the Independent Parliamentary Standards Authority Commons 2009-12
Committee on Reform of the House of Commons Commons 2009-09
Draft Constitutional Renewal Bill (Joint Committee) Commons 2008-08
Liaison Committee (Commons) Commons 2001-09
Standards and Privileges (Chair) Commons 2001-09
Standards and Privileges Commons 2001-09
Committee of Selection Commons 2001-09
Modernisation of the House of Commons Commons 1998-00
Public Accounts Committee Commons 1994-95
House of Commons (Services): New Building Sub-Committee Commons 1990-90
House of Commons (Services): Accomodation & Administration Sub-Committee Commons 1990-91
House of Commons (Services) Commons 1990-90

Political interests

Housing, disability, health education, constitutional reform

General Election 2010 General Election - North West Hampshire

Name Party Votes Share Change
Young, George Con 31072 58.31% 7.8%
McCann, Thomas LD 12489 23.44% -1.5%
Evans, Sarah Lab 6980 13.10% -7.7%
Oram, Stanley UKIP 2751 5.16% 1.4%
Majority 18583 34.87%
Turnout 53292 69.49%
Electorate 76695
Result Con Hold

See Briefing Papers General Election 2010 for detailed results.