House of Commons

The UK public elects 650 Members of Parliament (MPs) to represent their interests and concerns in the House of Commons. MPs consider and propose new laws, and can scrutinise government policies by asking ministers questions about current issues either in the Commons Chamber or in Committees.

Commons news

Commons second reading European Union (Approvals) Bill

MPs debate second reading of Bill on 4 February

What's on

Monday 4 February 2013

House of Commons

Main Chamber

Time Business
2:30pm Oral Questions

Communities and Local Government, including Topical Questions


Update on the humanitarian response to the Syria crisis


European Union (Approvals) Bill [HL] - Second reading

Adjournment - Mr John Denham

Persecution of the Hazara community in Pakistan

Westminster Hall

No business announced for today

General Committee

Time Business
4:30pm - Room 11, Palace of Westminster First Delegated Legislation Committee

Draft Climate Change Levy (Combined Heat and Power Stations) (Amendment) Regulations 2013

4:30pm - Room 12, Palace of Westminster Second Delegated Legislation Committee

Draft Public Bodies (Abolition of the Aircraft and Shipbuilding Industries Arbitration Tribunal) Order 2013 and the Draft Public Bodies (Abolition of British Shipbuilders) Order 2013

4:30pm - Room 9, Palace of Westminster Tenth Delegated Legislation Committee

Draft Social Security (Loss of Benefit) (Amendment) Regulations 2013

Select Committee

Time Business
3:15pm - Room 15, Palace of Westminster Public Accounts

Major Project Report 2012 and MoD Equipment Plan - Jon Thompson, Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Defence, Bernard Gray, Chief of Defence Materiel, Ministry of Defence, Stephen Hillier, Deputy Chief of Defence Staff (Military Capability), Ministry of Defence and David Willaims, Director General Finance, Ministry of Defence

4:05pm - The Thatcher Room, Portcullis House Transport

Rail Franchising - Martin Griffiths, Member, Rail Delivery Group, Graham Smith, Secretary, Rail Delivery Group, Michael Roberts, Chief Executive, Association of Train Operating Companies and Terence Watson, Managing Director, Alstom Transport; Anthony Smith, Chief Executive, Passenger Focus, Mike Brown, Managing Director, London Underground and London Rail, Transport for London and Geoff Inskip, Lead on rail issues, pteg; Rt Hon. Patrick McLoughlin MP, Secretary of State for Transport

4:10pm - The Grimond Room, Portcullis House Communities and Local Government

Private rented sector - Dr Tim Brown, Director, Centre for Comparative Housing Research, De Montfort University, Professor Martin Partington CBE, QC, Emeritus Professor of Law, University of Bristol and Dr Julie Rugg, Senior Research Fellow, Centre for Housing Policy, University of York; Kay Boycott, Director of Communications, Policy and Campaigns, Shelter, Councillor Tony Newman, Member of Environment and Housing Board, Local Government Association, Jacky Peacock OBE, Secretary, National Private Tenants Organisation and Alan Ward, Chair, Residential Landlords Association

4:30pm - The Wilson Room, Portcullis House Parliamentary Commission on Banking Standards

Banking Standards - António Horta-Osório, Group Chief Executive, Lloyds Banking Group and Sir Winfried Bischoff, Chairman, Lloyds Banking Group

House of Lords

Main Chamber

Time Business
2:30pm Oral Questions - Lord James of Blackheath

Shipping off the coast of Somalia regarding HM Navy's rules of engagement and their compliance with international maritime law

Oral Questions - Lord Knight of Weymouth

Building affordable homes in rural areas

Oral Questions - Viscount Hanworth

Nuclear research and development in the United Kingdom

Oral Questions - Lord Dykes

Derogations and opt-outs from European Union legislation

Legislation - Lord Stevenson of Coddenham

Mental Health (Discrimination) (No. 2) Bill - Committee of the whole House - Lord Stevenson of Coddenham

Legislation - Baroness Hanham

Growth and Infrastructure Bill - Committee of the whole House (Day 4) - Baroness Hanham

Short Debate - Baroness Perry of Southwark

The contribution of academies and free schools to educational provision in the United Kingdom

Grand Committee

Time Business
3:30pm Debate - Lord Bowness

The Report of the European Union Committee on The European Union’s Policy on Criminal Procedure

Debate - Baroness Sharp of Guildford

The Report of the Science and Technology Committee on Science and Heritage: a follow-up

Select Committee

Time Business
2:00pm - Room 2A, Palace of Westminster Public Service and Demographic Change

Private meeting

2:30pm - Room 3, Palace of Westminster Economic Affairs Finance Bill Sub-Committee

Finance Bill 2013 - (at 2.35pm) Judith Knott, HMRC Director, Corporation Tax International Anti-Avoidance (CTIAA); and Mike Williams, HMT Director, Business International Tax (BIT).

4:00pm - Room 2, Palace of Westminster Internal Market, Infrastructure and Employment (EU Sub-Committee B)

Research and Innovation - (at 5.00pm) Malcolm Harbour MEP, Chair, Internal Market and Consumer Protection Committee, European Parliament (via video-conference).

The Speaker

The Speaker

Understand the role, history and current activities of The Speaker

Parliament TV

Parliament TV

Watch live or archived coverage of Parliamentary business

Find Your MP

Related information

House of Commons Information Office


EDM database

Early Day Motions (EDMs) are formal motions submitted for debate in the House of Commons. The EDM database contains up-to-date information on the latest EDMs and signatures added to existing EDMs.

Members' financial interests

MPs must register any financial or non-financial interests that might reasonably be thought to influence their actions.

Follow Parliament on...

TwitterTwitter – keep up to date with what's happening in Parliament

FlickrFlickr – images of the business, events and buildings of Parliament

YouTubeYouTube – films explaining the work and history of Parliament

FacebookFacebook – become a fan of Parliament on facebook