Early day motion 1224

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House congratulates 37 year old Indian batsman Sachin Tendulkar on becoming the first person ever to score 50 test match centuries; notes that this incredible achievement came on Sunday 19 December 2010 during the first test between India and South Africa at the aptly named Centurion cricket ground in South Africa; further notes that this was Sachin Tendulkar's 175th test match for India and the 107 runs he scored were his seventh test century of 2010; and agrees with Indian cricket coach Gary Kirsten, who said after Sachin Tendulkar's achievement that it was little wonder that he has been so successful over so many years because he treats every cricketing day with humility and respect and works as hard as he can on his game, that it is a great lesson for young cricketers and that he is a professor in batting.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 23

  1. Show:

    Click for glossary


    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 23 out of 23

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 21.12.2010
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 12.01.2011
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 12.01.2011
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 21.12.2010
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 08.02.2011
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 19.01.2011
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 10.01.2011
Gapes, Mike Labour Party Ilford South 12.01.2011
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 21.12.2010
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 17.01.2011
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 10.01.2011
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 18.01.2011
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 21.12.2010
Johnson, Alan Labour Party Kingston upon Hull West and Hessle 27.01.2011
Lavery, Ian Labour Party Wansbeck 12.01.2011
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 18.01.2011
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 12.01.2011
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 12.01.2011
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 11.01.2011
Owen, Albert Labour Party Ynys Môn 12.01.2011
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 20.12.2010
Tami, Mark Labour Party Alyn and Deeside 17.01.2011
Vaz, Keith Labour Party Leicester East 10.01.2011