Early day motion 1649

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes that despite holding an election in November 2010, Burma has failed to meet the requests of the EU Common Position, last renewed on 26 April 2010, which called on Burma to take steps to bring about a peaceful transition to a democratic, civilian and inclusive system of government, to release political prisoners, to provide for free and fair elections, to engage with the international community and to respect international human rights and humanitarian law; further notes with concern that these requests have not been met; further notes that the November 2010 elections were widely dismissed as neither free nor fair, and that although Daw Aung San Suu Kyi has been released more than 2,000 political prisoners remain in detention; and calls on the Government to make representations in support ofa UN Commission of Inquiry into war crimes and crimes against humanity in Burma, ahead of the EU Council Position renewal in April 2011.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 37

  1. Show:

    Click for glossary


    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 37 out of 37

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 24.03.2011
Bruce, Fiona Conservative Party Congleton 07.06.2011
Campbell, Gregory Democratic Unionist Party Londonderry East 28.03.2011
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 24.03.2011
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 26.04.2011
Clwyd, Ann Labour Party Cynon Valley 07.06.2011
Connarty, Michael Labour Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 31.03.2011
Cooper, Rosie Labour Party West Lancashire 07.06.2011
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 29.03.2011
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 30.03.2011
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 26.04.2011
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 24.03.2011
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 28.03.2011
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 04.04.2011
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 29.03.2011
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 04.04.2011
Howarth, George Labour Party Knowsley 31.03.2011
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Kilburn 24.03.2011
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 01.04.2011
Lewis, Julian Conservative Party New Forest East 30.03.2011
Lloyd, Tony Labour Party Manchester Central 30.03.2011
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 31.03.2011
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 28.03.2011
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 29.03.2011
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 31.03.2011
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 31.03.2011
Miller, Andrew Labour Party Ellesmere Port and Neston 28.04.2011
Pugh, John Liberal Democrats Southport 26.04.2011
Reynolds, Emma Labour Party Wolverhampton North East 04.04.2011
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 26.04.2011
Ruddock, Joan Labour Party Lewisham Deptford 26.04.2011
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 28.03.2011
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 24.03.2011
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 04.04.2011
Thurso, John Liberal Democrats Caithness Sutherland and Easter Ross 26.04.2011
Vaz, Valerie Labour Party Walsall South 23.03.2011
Williams, Stephen Liberal Democrats Bristol West 29.03.2011