Early day motion 2258

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House acknowledges the reported release of approximately 100 political prisoners in Burma, according to figures from the Assistance Association for Political Prisoners; welcomes the release of any political prisoners; is, however, concerned that the number of releases is small relative to the high number of political prisoners who remain in detention; notes that previous mass releases of political prisoners in Burma have not historically led to significant democratic reform or a long-term reduction in the number of political prisoners; further notes the view of the Burma Campaign UK that the release of political prisoners would have to be a significant change from what has gone before if it is to signify the possibility that real change is on the way, and the view of the National League for Democracy which has stated that the release of all political prisoners is a key benchmark for change; is further concerned by reports that activists are still being arrested and jailed, and that the laws that allowed them to be arrested are still in place; and calls on the Government to make representations for the release of all political prisoners and the promotion and protection of human rights in Burma.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 29

  1. Show:

    Click for glossary


    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 29 out of 29

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 18.10.2011
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 19.10.2011
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 18.10.2011
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 18.10.2011
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 18.10.2011
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 17.10.2011
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 18.10.2011
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 18.10.2011
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 25.10.2011
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 25.10.2011
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 19.10.2011
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 19.10.2011
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Kilburn 19.10.2011
Lewis, Julian Conservative Party New Forest East 20.10.2011
Lloyd, Tony Labour Party Manchester Central 19.10.2011
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 19.10.2011
Long, Naomi Alliance Party Belfast East 24.10.2011
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 14.12.2011
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 18.10.2011
Morrice, Graeme Labour Party Livingston 07.11.2011
Mulholland, Greg Liberal Democrats Leeds North West 24.10.2011
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 25.10.2011
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 18.10.2011
Roy, Lindsay Labour Party Glenrothes 19.10.2011
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 18.10.2011
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 19.10.2011
Vaz, Valerie Labour Party Walsall South 17.10.2011
Weir, Mike Scottish National Party Angus 19.10.2011
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 07.11.2011