Early day motion 1808

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes with concern the Jobcentre Plus announcement of the closure of five contact centres at Caerphilly, Clydebank, Grimsby, Liverpool and Preston and 17 benefit processing centres in Arbroath, Ayr, Broadstairs, Cannock, Carlisle, Castleford, Chester, Exeter, Halifax, Hartlepool, Huyton, Lincoln, Luton, Mansfield, Sutton-in-Ashfield, Southampton and Yeovil; further notes that these closures threaten 2,400 jobs; believes that with unemployment standing at 2.5 million, now is the worst time to make cuts to services that will affect the time taken in paying unemployed people the benefits to which they are entitled and reliant upon for an income; further notes that the Office for Budget Responsibility has predicted that unemployment levels will continue to increase in 2012; and calls on the Secretary of State for Work and Pensions to reconsider this decision and commit to discussing this decision with trade unions representing Jobcentre Plus staff under threat of losing their jobs.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 46

  1. Show:

    Click for glossary


    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 46 out of 46

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Alexander, Heidi Labour Party Lewisham East 09.06.2011
Begg, Anne Labour Party Aberdeen South 04.07.2011
Blomfield, Paul Labour Party Sheffield Central 09.09.2011
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 18.05.2011
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 18.05.2011
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 16.05.2011
Clarke, Tom Labour Party Coatbridge Chryston and Bellshill 01.11.2011
Connarty, Michael Labour Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 23.05.2011
Cooper, Rosie Labour Party West Lancashire 17.05.2011
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 16.05.2011
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 07.06.2011
Cruddas, Jon Labour Party Dagenham and Rainham 17.10.2011
Cunningham, Alex Labour Party Stockton North 29.06.2011
Cunningham, Tony Labour Party Workington 05.09.2011
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 16.05.2011
Farrelly, Paul Labour Party Newcastle-under-Lyme 18.07.2011
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 16.05.2011
Fovargue, Yvonne Labour Party Makerfield 20.06.2011
Green, Kate Labour Party Stretford and Urmston 13.05.2011
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 19.05.2011
Howarth, George Labour Party Knowsley 17.05.2011
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Kilburn 18.05.2011
Lavery, Ian Labour Party Wansbeck 24.05.2011
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 17.05.2011
Lloyd, Tony Labour Party Manchester Central 18.05.2011
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 13.05.2011
McGovern, Alison Labour Party Wirral South 31.10.2011
McGovern, Jim Labour Party Dundee West 16.05.2011
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 18.05.2011
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 05.09.2011
Morrice, Graeme Labour Party Livingston 13.06.2011
Nash, Pamela Labour Party Airdrie and Shotts 24.11.2011
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 18.05.2011
Pearce, Teresa Labour Party Erith and Thamesmead 23.05.2011
Riordan, Linda Labour Party Halifax 16.05.2011
Roy, Lindsay Labour Party Glenrothes 23.05.2011
Ruddock, Joan Labour Party Lewisham Deptford 08.09.2011
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 16.01.2012
Sheerman, Barry Labour Party Huddersfield 13.06.2011
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 16.05.2011
Stringer, Graham Labour Party Blackley and Broughton 16.05.2011
Vaz, Valerie Labour Party Walsall South 30.06.2011
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Arfon 23.05.2011
Williams, Roger Liberal Democrats Brecon and Radnorshire 14.07.2011
Wishart, Pete Scottish National Party Perth and North Perthshire 05.09.2011
Wood, Mike Labour Party Batley and Spen 07.06.2011