Early day motion 1898

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes disturbing evidence of an escalation in violence, harassment and intimidation against minority Muslim and Christian communities in Indonesia; is concerned extremists who are intolerant of religious minorities have been emboldened by the brutal murder of three Ahmadi Muslims in February, violent attacks on other Ahmadi Muslims on this and other occasions, the displacement of Ahmadi Muslims from their villages, and the destruction of Ahmadiyya Muslim mosques and Christian churches, as well as other restrictions on religious freedom; further notes with concern the continuing misuse of Indonesia's Blasphemy Law, and the resulting atmosphere of radicalisation, violence and hatred; further notes that statements made by members of the Indonesian Government calling for a ban on the Ahmadiyya Muslim community are in contrast to the country's stated commitment to religious freedom and tolerance; calls on the Government to raise concerns about religious freedom, and specifically the persecution of Ahmadi Muslims and Christians in Indonesia, with the Government of Indonesia, as well as with the United Nations Special Rapporteur for Freedom of Religion and Belief; urges Indonesia to revoke the 2008 Joint Ministerial decree against Ahmadi Muslims, to repeal the Blasphemy Law that is being misused to persecute minority communities, and to uphold complete freedom of religion for all; and further calls on the Government of Indonesia to ensure that all perpetrators of violence against minority communities are brought to justice and measures are taken to protect all citizens from further intimidation, harassment and violence.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 53

  1. Show:

    Click for glossary


    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 53 out of 53

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Beith, Alan Liberal Democrats Berwick-Upon-Tweed 29.06.2011
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 10.06.2011
Brady, Graham Conservative Party Altrincham and Sale West 11.08.2011
Campbell, Gregory Democratic Unionist Party Londonderry East 15.06.2011
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 13.06.2011
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 16.06.2011
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 13.06.2011
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 21.06.2011
Crockart, Mike Liberal Democrats Edinburgh West 23.06.2011
Cryer, John Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 20.12.2011
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 27.06.2011
Cunningham, Tony Labour Party Workington 05.07.2011
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 15.06.2011
Dobson, Frank Labour Party Holborn and St Pancras 06.07.2011
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 15.06.2011
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 13.06.2011
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 14.06.2011
Esterson, Bill Labour Party Sefton Central 27.06.2011
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 15.06.2011
Foster, Don Liberal Democrats Bath 10.10.2011
Gapes, Mike Labour Party Ilford South 11.07.2011
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 14.06.2011
Goldsmith, Zac Conservative Party Richmond Park 12.07.2011
Green, Kate Labour Party Stretford and Urmston 08.09.2011
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 13.06.2011
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 27.06.2011
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 11.08.2011
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 16.06.2011
Horwood, Martin Liberal Democrats Cheltenham 05.09.2011
Kaufman, Gerald Labour Party Manchester Gorton 05.09.2011
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 13.06.2011
Lloyd, Tony Labour Party Manchester Central 16.06.2011
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 11.07.2011
Long, Naomi Alliance Party Belfast East 30.06.2011
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 14.06.2011
McDonagh, Siobhain Labour Party Mitcham and Morden 09.06.2011
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 14.06.2011
McGovern, Jim Labour Party Dundee West 15.06.2011
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 28.06.2011
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 13.06.2011
Owen, Albert Labour Party Ynys Môn 21.06.2011
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 23.06.2011
Ruddock, Joan Labour Party Lewisham Deptford 28.06.2011
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 15.06.2011
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 13.06.2011
Sheerman, Barry Labour Party Huddersfield 19.07.2011
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 14.06.2011
Stringer, Graham Labour Party Blackley and Broughton 11.08.2011
Thurso, John Liberal Democrats Caithness Sutherland and Easter Ross 27.06.2011
Vaz, Keith Labour Party Leicester East 06.07.2011
Vaz, Valerie Labour Party Walsall South 28.06.2011
Willott, Jenny Liberal Democrats Cardiff Central 06.07.2011
Wilson, Sammy Democratic Unionist Party East Antrim 29.06.2011