Early day motion 2038

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House expresses serious concern over the Government's proposal to impose changes on MyCSP, the public sector organisation that administers Civil Service pension schemes, that would create a mutual company in which the Government would be the sole shareholder; regrets the Government's description of these plans as employee-led; supports MyCSP employees' opposition to this plan, which would strip them of their Civil Service status and pension and has led to industrial action at all five MyCSP offices; notes that these walk-outs were supported by 76 per cent. of all MyCSP staff; further notes the findings of the Public and Commercial Services Union's survey of over half of MyCSP staff, both union and non-union members, that 95.7 per cent. want to retain their Civil Service status in full and 94 per cent. are opposed to the Government's view that this change will empower employees and improve performance; recalls that where mutual models have previously been imposed on the public sector by Government, as in the case of the Forensic Science Service, it has been a precursor to privatisation; and calls on the Government to scrap this plan or, at least, provide evidence that it has the support of the majority of MyCSP staff before continuing to describe this reform as employee-led.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 23

  1. Show:

    Click for glossary


    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 23 out of 23

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Blenkinsop, Tom Labour Party Middlesbrough South and East Cleveland 05.07.2011
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 06.07.2011
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 06.07.2011
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 13.07.2011
Davidson, Ian Labour Party Glasgow South West 11.07.2011
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 07.07.2011
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 06.07.2011
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 12.07.2011
Glass, Pat Labour Party North West Durham 05.07.2011
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 05.07.2011
Heyes, David Labour Party Ashton under Lyne 18.07.2011
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 06.07.2011
Lavery, Ian Labour Party Wansbeck 12.07.2011
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 11.07.2011
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 05.09.2011
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 05.07.2011
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 06.07.2011
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 05.07.2011
Morrice, Graeme Labour Party Livingston 05.09.2011
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 06.07.2011
Roy, Lindsay Labour Party Glenrothes 11.07.2011
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 06.07.2011
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Arfon 11.07.2011