Early day motion 2292

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House believes a moratorium should be placed on onshore and offshore exploration, development and production of shale gas via the withdrawal of UK Petroleum Exploration and Drilling Licences at sites utilising hydraulic fracturing (fracking) processes, at least until the publication of a detailed environmental impact assessment into the practice; notes that hydraulic fracturing can contaminate local water sources such as aquifers, which provide about 30 per cent. of the UK's drinking water; further believes the production of hard to reach fossil fuels is not compatible with efforts to achieve the UK's statutory carbon budgets; and, therefore, urges the Government instead to give greater support to the generation of energy from renewable sources.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 47

  1. Show:

    Click for glossary


    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 47 out of 47

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 20.12.2011
Brooke, Annette Liberal Democrats Mid Dorset and North Poole 18.01.2012
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 26.10.2011
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 25.10.2011
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 24.01.2012
Cooper, Rosie Labour Party West Lancashire 08.12.2011
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 24.10.2011
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 08.12.2011
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 20.10.2011
Doran, Frank Labour Party Aberdeen North 02.02.2012
Dowd, Jim Labour Party Lewisham West and Penge 20.12.2011
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 20.10.2011
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 20.10.2011
Farron, Tim Liberal Democrats Westmorland and Lonsdale 23.01.2012
Foster, Don Liberal Democrats Bath 20.12.2011
Francis, Hywel Labour Party Aberavon 23.01.2012
Gapes, Mike Labour Party Ilford South 20.02.2012
Gilmore, Sheila Labour Party Edinburgh East 13.12.2011
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 10.01.2012
Hamilton, Fabian Labour Party Leeds North East 16.01.2012
Heyes, David Labour Party Ashton under Lyne 10.01.2012
Hood, Jim Labour Party Lanark and Hamilton East 10.01.2012
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 24.10.2011
Huppert, Julian Liberal Democrats Cambridge 16.01.2012
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Kilburn 21.10.2011
Kaufman, Gerald Labour Party Manchester Gorton 28.11.2011
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 31.10.2011
Long, Naomi Alliance Party Belfast East 05.12.2011
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 20.10.2011
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 23.11.2011
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 24.10.2011
Meacher, Michael Labour Party Oldham West and Royton 20.10.2011
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 24.10.2011
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 10.01.2012
Morrice, Graeme Labour Party Livingston 03.11.2011
Munt, Tessa Liberal Democrats Wells Somerset 01.12.2011
Murphy, Paul Labour Party Torfaen 18.01.2012
Qureshi, Yasmin Labour Party Bolton South East 02.11.2011
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 25.10.2011
Ruddock, Joan Labour Party Lewisham Deptford 18.01.2012
Sanders, Adrian Liberal Democrats Torbay 20.12.2011
Sheerman, Barry Labour Party Huddersfield 06.02.2012
Vaz, Valerie Labour Party Walsall South 23.11.2011
Walley, Joan Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent North 23.11.2011
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Arfon 12.01.2012
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 27.10.2011
Wood, Mike Labour Party Batley and Spen 16.01.2012