Early day motion 1791

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House believes that it is the sign of a responsible society that it supports disabled people to lead an independent and fulfilling life; further believes that, while reform is needed, the Government's current plans are causing unnecessary uncertainty and creating risks for disabled people up and down the country; further believes that the Government has failed to appreciate the cumulative impact of the changes it is proposing; further believes that ill-thought through reform of disability benefits could push thousands of disabled people into poverty; considers it irresponsible to time limit to one year the payment of contributory employment and support allowance which will affect people suffering from cancer and fluctuating conditions; calls on the Government to abandon plans to remove the mobility component of disability living allowance from 80,000 people in residential care homes; further calls on the Government to retain automatic entitlement for people who have severe impairments, meaning that blind people, the mentally impaired and double amputees will not have to face the distress of applying for support that they genuinely need; expresses serious concern that 100,000 families with disabled children will see their support halved as a result of the decision to replace the disability element of child tax credit; and further believes that disabled people should have to wait only three months rather than six months before they can apply for the new personal independence payment.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 62

  1. Show:

    Click for glossary


    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 62 out of 62

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Begg, Anne Labour Party Aberdeen South 18.05.2011
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 16.05.2011
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 16.05.2011
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 12.05.2011
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 16.05.2011
Connarty, Michael Labour Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 12.05.2011
Cooper, Rosie Labour Party West Lancashire 17.05.2011
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 12.05.2011
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 09.06.2011
Cunningham, Alex Labour Party Stockton North 24.05.2011
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 16.05.2011
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 08.06.2011
Donaldson, Jeffrey Democratic Unionist Party Lagan Valley 18.05.2011
Doran, Frank Labour Party Aberdeen North 13.06.2011
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 11.05.2011
Efford, Clive Labour Party Eltham 12.05.2011
Ellman, Louise Labour Party Liverpool Riverside 07.06.2011
Farrelly, Paul Labour Party Newcastle-under-Lyme 18.07.2011
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 16.05.2011
Fovargue, Yvonne Labour Party Makerfield 12.05.2011
Francis, Hywel Labour Party Aberavon 18.05.2011
Gapes, Mike Labour Party Ilford South 09.06.2011
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 12.05.2011
Gilmore, Sheila Labour Party Edinburgh East 19.05.2011
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 07.06.2011
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 17.05.2011
Harris, Tom Labour Party Glasgow South 07.06.2011
Havard, Dai Labour Party Merthyr Tydfil and Rhymney 23.05.2011
Heyes, David Labour Party Ashton under Lyne 24.05.2011
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 13.05.2011
Howarth, George Labour Party Knowsley 17.05.2011
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Kilburn 13.05.2011
Jamieson, Cathy Labour Party Kilmarnock and Loudoun 07.06.2011
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 12.05.2011
Lloyd, Tony Labour Party Manchester Central 12.05.2011
Long, Naomi Alliance Party Belfast East 24.05.2011
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 24.05.2011
Marsden, Gordon Labour Party Blackpool South 24.05.2011
McCarthy, Kerry Labour Party Bristol East 12.05.2011
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 17.05.2011
McGovern, Jim Labour Party Dundee West 16.05.2011
McGuire, Anne Labour Party Stirling 12.05.2011
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 12.05.2011
Miller, Andrew Labour Party Ellesmere Port and Neston 12.05.2011
Mitchell, Austin Labour Party Great Grimsby 12.05.2011
Morrice, Graeme Labour Party Livingston 23.05.2011
Nandy, Lisa Labour Party Wigan 10.10.2011
Nash, Pamela Labour Party Airdrie and Shotts 12.05.2011
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 12.05.2011
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 18.05.2011
Rotheram, Steve Labour Party Liverpool Walton 12.05.2011
Roy, Frank Labour Party Motherwell and Wishaw 12.05.2011
Roy, Lindsay Labour Party Glenrothes 23.05.2011
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 11.05.2011
Sarwar, Anas Labour Party Glasgow Central 11.05.2011
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 12.05.2011
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 12.05.2011
Sheridan, Jim Labour Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 17.05.2011
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 17.05.2011
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 12.05.2011
Vaz, Keith Labour Party Leicester East 17.05.2011
Walley, Joan Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent North 07.06.2011