Early day motion 393

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House urges the Government to recognise that the intention behind disability living allowance was not to award benefit based on a particular disabling condition but on the extent to which a severely disabled person has personal care or mobility needs as a result of living with their disability; understands that medical assessments and questionnaires cannot in practice be worded perfectly to reflect the legislation and case law; acknowledges that it is the role of the decision maker to determine a person's eligibility, based on all the relevant evidence, both medical and non-medical; considers that the administrative cost of medical assessments could be better used to make the benefit application process easier for disabled people to complete and to better support the decision maker; and calls on the Government to re-consider its decision to introduce medical assessments for new and existing claimants of disability living allowance.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 99

  1. Show:

    Click for glossary


    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 99 out of 99

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Alexander, Heidi Labour Party Lewisham East 20.07.2010
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 20.07.2010
Bailey, Adrian Labour Party West Bromwich West 28.02.2011
Barron, Kevin Labour Party Rother Valley 13.07.2010
Begg, Anne Labour Party Aberdeen South 06.09.2010
Berger, Luciana Labour Party Liverpool Wavertree 08.07.2010
Blomfield, Paul Labour Party Sheffield Central 26.07.2010
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 05.07.2010
Brown, Russell Labour Party Dumfries and Galloway 22.07.2010
Burden, Richard Labour Party Birmingham Northfield 16.02.2011
Campbell, Gregory Democratic Unionist Party Londonderry East 07.09.2010
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 07.07.2010
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 06.07.2010
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 19.07.2010
Coaker, Vernon Labour Party Gedling 13.07.2010
Cooper, Rosie Labour Party West Lancashire 06.09.2010
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 06.07.2010
Creasy, Stella Labour Party Walthamstow 06.09.2010
Cruddas, Jon Labour Party Dagenham and Rainham 01.11.2010
Cryer, John Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 30.03.2011
Cunningham, Alex Labour Party Stockton North 27.07.2010
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 14.02.2011
Cunningham, Tony Labour Party Workington 13.07.2010
Dakin, Nic Labour Party Scunthorpe 06.09.2010
Danczuk, Simon Labour Party Rochdale 06.09.2010
Davidson, Ian Labour Party Glasgow South West 06.09.2010
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 07.07.2010
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 15.07.2010
Donaldson, Jeffrey Democratic Unionist Party Lagan Valley 19.07.2010
Doran, Frank Labour Party Aberdeen North 04.03.2011
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 06.07.2010
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 05.07.2010
Efford, Clive Labour Party Eltham 08.09.2010
Farrelly, Paul Labour Party Newcastle-under-Lyme 06.09.2010
Farron, Tim Liberal Democrats Westmorland and Lonsdale 06.09.2010
Flello, Robert Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent South 07.07.2010
Gapes, Mike Labour Party Ilford South 28.02.2011
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 07.07.2010
Gilmore, Sheila Labour Party Edinburgh East 06.09.2010
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 06.07.2010
Goggins, Paul Labour Party Wythenshawe and Sale East 14.09.2010
Goodman, Helen Labour Party Bishop Auckland 06.09.2010
Green, Kate Labour Party Stretford and Urmston 14.07.2010
Gwynne, Andrew Labour Party Denton and Reddish 07.07.2010
Hamilton, David Labour Party Midlothian 08.07.2010
Hamilton, Fabian Labour Party Leeds North East 06.09.2010
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 06.07.2010
Hepburn, Stephen Labour Party Jarrow 12.07.2010
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 08.02.2011
Heyes, David Labour Party Ashton under Lyne 12.07.2010
Hodgson, Sharon Labour Party Washington and Sunderland West 13.07.2010
Hoey, Kate Labour Party Vauxhall 01.07.2010
Hood, Jim Labour Party Lanark and Hamilton East 13.09.2010
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 06.07.2010
Hosie, Stewart Scottish National Party Dundee East 15.03.2011
Howarth, George Labour Party Knowsley 26.07.2010
Hunt, Tristram Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent Central 01.11.2010
Huppert, Julian Liberal Democrats Cambridge 01.03.2011
James, Sian C Labour Party Swansea East 20.07.2010
Joyce, Eric Labour Party Falkirk 08.09.2011
Kaufman, Gerald Labour Party Manchester Gorton 20.07.2010
Lazarowicz, Mark Labour Party Edinburgh North and Leith 14.07.2010
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 13.07.2010
Lloyd, Tony Labour Party Manchester Central 04.11.2010
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 06.07.2010
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 07.07.2010
MacNeil, Angus Scottish National Party Na h-Eileanan an Iar 06.07.2010
Mactaggart, Fiona Labour Party Slough 11.10.2010
Mann, John Labour Party Bassetlaw 26.07.2010
McCarthy, Kerry Labour Party Bristol East 06.09.2010
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 06.07.2010
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 10.11.2010
McGovern, Jim Labour Party Dundee West 11.10.2010
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 05.07.2010
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 07.02.2011
Morrice, Graeme Labour Party Livingston 16.02.2011
Nandy, Lisa Labour Party Wigan 14.07.2010
Paisley, Ian Jnr Democratic Unionist Party North Antrim 05.07.2010
Pound, Stephen Labour Party Ealing North 12.07.2010
Qureshi, Yasmin Labour Party Bolton South East 23.11.2010
Riordan, Linda Labour Party Halifax 27.07.2010
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 07.07.2010
Robertson, John Labour Party Glasgow North West 04.03.2011
Ruddock, Joan Labour Party Lewisham Deptford 07.07.2011
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 27.07.2010
Sanders, Adrian Liberal Democrats Torbay 24.05.2011
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 07.07.2010
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 08.07.2010
Singh, Marsha Labour Party Bradford West 08.07.2010
Slaughter, Andy Labour Party Hammersmith 06.09.2010
Smith, Angela C Labour Party Penistone and Stocksbridge 26.07.2010
Thurso, John Liberal Democrats Caithness Sutherland and Easter Ross 07.09.2010
Vaz, Keith Labour Party Leicester East 07.07.2010
Walley, Joan Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent North 08.02.2011
Watts, Dave Labour Party St Helens North 22.07.2010
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Arfon 06.09.2010
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 06.09.2010
Williamson, Chris Labour Party Derby North 06.09.2010
Wishart, Pete Scottish National Party Perth and North Perthshire 14.02.2011