Early day motion 630

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes that whilst there is a legal minimum workplace indoor temperature there is no clear legal maximum workplace temperature so that conditions can vary greatly from employer to employer; further notes that many employees, particularly those working in bakeries, are often subjected to very high temperatures which can impact seriously on their health and well-being, with effects ranging from discomfort, stress, irritability and headaches, to extra strain on the heart and lungs, dizziness and fainting and heat cramps due to loss of water and salt; and urges the Government to provide clear and coherent guidelines to employers about how to combat heat in the workplace and to introduce a maximum working workplace temperature of 30C (86F) and of 27C (81F) for those doing strenuous work.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 49

  1. Show:

    Click for glossary


    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 49 out of 49

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 26.07.2010
Blenkinsop, Tom Labour Party Middlesbrough South and East Cleveland 07.09.2010
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 26.07.2010
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 08.09.2010
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 07.09.2010
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 26.07.2010
Coaker, Vernon Labour Party Gedling 06.09.2010
Cooper, Rosie Labour Party West Lancashire 02.12.2010
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 27.07.2010
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 26.07.2010
Cryer, John Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 26.07.2010
Davidson, Ian Labour Party Glasgow South West 30.06.2011
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 07.09.2010
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 06.09.2010
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 27.07.2010
Engel, Natascha Labour Party North East Derbyshire 22.10.2010
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 09.09.2010
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 18.10.2010
Goodman, Helen Labour Party Bishop Auckland 06.09.2010
Hamilton, David Labour Party Midlothian 09.09.2010
Havard, Dai Labour Party Merthyr Tydfil and Rhymney 07.09.2010
Hilling, Julie Labour Party Bolton West 14.09.2010
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 26.07.2010
Lavery, Ian Labour Party Wansbeck 26.07.2010
Lazarowicz, Mark Labour Party Edinburgh North and Leith 09.09.2010
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 13.09.2010
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 06.09.2010
Marsden, Gordon Labour Party Blackpool South 08.09.2010
McCarthy, Kerry Labour Party Bristol East 06.09.2010
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 07.09.2010
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 08.09.2010
McDonnell, John [R] Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 26.07.2010
McGovern, Jim Labour Party Dundee West 06.09.2010
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 07.09.2010
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 06.07.2011
Nandy, Lisa Labour Party Wigan 01.12.2010
Nash, Pamela Labour Party Airdrie and Shotts 11.10.2010
Qureshi, Yasmin Labour Party Bolton South East 14.09.2010
Riordan, Linda Labour Party Halifax 13.10.2010
Rotheram, Steve Labour Party Liverpool Walton 07.09.2010
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 26.07.2010
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 07.09.2010
Shuker, Gavin Labour Party Luton South 11.10.2010
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 27.07.2010
Slaughter, Andy Labour Party Hammersmith 06.09.2010
Vaz, Valerie Labour Party Walsall South 11.10.2010
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Arfon 07.09.2010
Williams, Stephen Liberal Democrats Bristol West 27.07.2010
Wood, Mike Labour Party Batley and Spen 13.09.2010