Early day motion 1253

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House welcomes the Coalition Agreement commitment to introduce a power of recall for constituents to recall their hon. Members; expresses its disappointment that a recall vote will only happen if the Committee on Standards and Privileges deems an hon. Member guilty of serious wrongdoing; further expresses its disappointment that the Government has no plans to introduce a power for electors to recall members of the London Assembly, local councillors or Members of the European Parliament; further welcomes instead the provisions of the Recall of Elected Representatives Bill that would permit voters to recall their elected representatives if a majority has lost confidence in them, for whatever reason, and if enough voters sign a petition to trigger a recall vote; and urges the Government to incorporate these provisions as part of its legislative programme to put power in the hands of communities and individuals.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 57

  1. Show:

    Click for glossary


    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 57 out of 57

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 11.01.2011
Brake, Tom Liberal Democrats Carshalton and Wallington 13.06.2011
Bruce, Malcolm Liberal Democrats Gordon 24.01.2012
Carswell, Douglas Conservative Party Clacton 17.05.2011
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 27.04.2011
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 06.07.2011
Crockart, Mike Liberal Democrats Edinburgh West 19.05.2011
Cruddas, Jon Labour Party Dagenham and Rainham 21.02.2012
Cryer, John Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 25.01.2011
Dakin, Nic Labour Party Scunthorpe 21.06.2011
Danczuk, Simon Labour Party Rochdale 07.07.2011
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 24.05.2011
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 17.05.2011
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 19.07.2011
Farron, Tim Liberal Democrats Westmorland and Lonsdale 25.01.2012
Field, Frank Labour Party Birkenhead 13.05.2011
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 12.01.2011
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 11.01.2011
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 09.05.2011
Goldsmith, Zac Conservative Party Richmond Park 11.01.2011
Halfon, Robert Conservative Party Harlow 29.06.2011
Hames, Duncan Liberal Democrats Chippenham 13.10.2011
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 12.01.2011
Henderson, Gordon Conservative Party Sittingbourne and Sheppey 13.06.2011
Hepburn, Stephen Labour Party Jarrow 27.04.2011
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 15.11.2011
Hoey, Kate Labour Party Vauxhall 19.01.2011
Kennedy, Charles Liberal Democrats Ross Skye and Lochaber 11.05.2011
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 05.04.2011
McCabe, Steve Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 22.06.2011
Meacher, Michael Labour Party Oldham West and Royton 05.07.2011
Mercer, Patrick Conservative Party Newark 03.05.2011
Morris, David Conservative Party Morecambe and Lunesdale 18.01.2011
Mowat, David Conservative Party Warrington South 17.05.2011
Munt, Tessa Liberal Democrats Wells Somerset 27.06.2011
Murray, Ian Labour Party Edinburgh South 14.07.2011
Owen, Albert Labour Party Ynys Môn 12.01.2011
Parish, Neil Conservative Party Tiverton and Honiton 24.05.2011
Percy, Andrew Conservative Party Brigg and Goole 05.04.2011
Qureshi, Yasmin Labour Party Bolton South East 19.05.2011
Reckless, Mark Conservative Party Rochester and Strood 26.04.2011
Rotheram, Steve Labour Party Liverpool Walton 12.01.2011
Singh, Marsha Labour Party Bradford West 18.05.2011
Stephenson, Andrew Conservative Party Pendle 08.06.2011
Stuart, Graham Conservative Party Beverley and Holderness 07.06.2011
Sturdy, Julian Conservative Party York Outer 10.06.2011
Vickers, Martin Conservative Party Cleethorpes 04.05.2011
Walley, Joan Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent North 08.06.2011
Ward, David Liberal Democrats Bradford East 06.07.2011
Watts, Dave Labour Party St Helens North 25.01.2012
Weatherley, Mike Conservative Party Hove 28.04.2011
Whittaker, Craig Conservative Party Calder Valley 05.04.2011
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Arfon 26.04.2011
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 09.06.2011
Williams, Roger Liberal Democrats Brecon and Radnorshire 23.05.2011
Wishart, Pete Scottish National Party Perth and North Perthshire 07.06.2011
Wood, Mike Labour Party Batley and Spen 23.05.2011