Early day motion 1434

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes the deepening crackdown inside Tibet that is curtailing basic freedoms of expression through arbitrary arrest and torture of Tibetans, both intellectuals and ordinary citizens, who have publicly expressed their views and communicated news on local issues via emails, text messages, blogs, magazine articles and songs; further notes that the level of penalties being meted out to those Tibetans arrested and charged for such low-level information sharing are among the most severe in the world and that this crackdown on freedom of speech and opinion is being used by the Chinese government as a mechanism to silence any criticism of their policies in Tibet; therefore calls on the Government to make strong and direct representations to the Chinese government to observe the Universal Declaration of Human Rights and ratify the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights, to uphold the principles of freedom of expression and opinion and to develop a timeframe of adherence; and further calls on the Government to urge the Chinese government immediately to release these Tibetan prisoners of conscience.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 59

  1. Show:

    Click for glossary


    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 59 out of 59

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Alexander, Heidi Labour Party Lewisham East 14.03.2011
Bayley, Hugh Labour Party York Central 09.02.2011
Benton, Joe Labour Party Bootle 17.02.2011
Bone, Peter Conservative Party Wellingborough 09.06.2011
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 09.02.2011
Brake, Tom Liberal Democrats Carshalton and Wallington 31.03.2011
Bruce, Fiona Conservative Party Congleton 05.04.2011
Campbell, Gregory Democratic Unionist Party Londonderry East 16.02.2011
Campbell, Menzies Liberal Democrats North East Fife 31.03.2011
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 16.02.2011
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 22.03.2011
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 09.02.2011
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 30.03.2011
Crockart, Mike Liberal Democrats Edinburgh West 24.05.2011
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 10.02.2011
Dowd, Jim Labour Party Lewisham West and Penge 28.02.2011
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 09.02.2011
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 10.02.2011
Esterson, Bill Labour Party Sefton Central 22.03.2011
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 16.02.2011
Foster, Don Liberal Democrats Bath 28.03.2011
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 10.02.2011
Halfon, Robert Conservative Party Harlow 23.03.2011
Hames, Duncan Liberal Democrats Chippenham 26.04.2011
Hamilton, Fabian Labour Party Leeds North East 09.02.2011
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 09.02.2011
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 28.02.2011
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 10.02.2011
Hoey, Kate Labour Party Vauxhall 10.03.2011
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 14.02.2011
Hughes, Simon Liberal Democrats Bermondsey and Old Southwark 08.12.2011
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Kilburn 11.02.2011
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 14.02.2011
Lloyd, Stephen Liberal Democrats Eastbourne 24.03.2011
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 10.02.2011
Long, Naomi Alliance Party Belfast East 17.02.2011
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 02.03.2011
Main, Anne Conservative Party St Albans 14.03.2011
Mann, John Labour Party Bassetlaw 16.02.2011
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 15.02.2011
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 10.02.2011
Miller, Andrew Labour Party Ellesmere Port and Neston 14.03.2011
Morris, David Conservative Party Morecambe and Lunesdale 10.03.2011
Munt, Tessa Liberal Democrats Wells Somerset 24.03.2011
Pugh, John Liberal Democrats Southport 28.02.2011
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 16.02.2011
Rogerson, Dan Liberal Democrats North Cornwall 16.02.2011
Ruane, Chris Labour Party Vale of Clwyd 29.03.2011
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 10.02.2011
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 15.02.2011
Singh, Marsha Labour Party Bradford West 16.02.2011
Smith, Robert Liberal Democrats West Aberdeenshire and Kincardine 14.03.2011
Thurso, John Liberal Democrats Caithness Sutherland and Easter Ross 18.03.2011
Weir, Mike Scottish National Party Angus 16.02.2011
Wicks, Malcolm Labour Party Croydon North 17.03.2011
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Arfon 26.04.2011
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 10.03.2011
Williams, Stephen Liberal Democrats Bristol West 17.02.2011
Wright, Simon Liberal Democrats Norwich South 16.03.2011