Early day motion 2362

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House welcomes the campaign by the Karen Clifford Skin Cancer Charity and Factor50 to improve access to treatments for patients with advanced melanoma; notes that in 2008 there were 11,767 new cases of malignant melanoma diagnosed in the UK and that whilst the majority of skin cancers are treatable, malignant melanoma is a particularly aggressive form of skin cancer causing the deaths of over 2,000 people in the UK each year; further notes that melanoma is the second most common cancer among young adults aged between 15 and 34 and that recent data published in the British Journal of Cancer predicts that the incidence rate of melanoma will increase more than any other cancer by 2030, rising by 52 per cent. for both men and women; is therefore deeply concerned that the National Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence(NICE) has issued draft guidance which restricts the use of Ipilimumab (Yervoy) for previously treated advanced malignant melanoma for patients in England and Wales; is furtherconcerned that there have been no licensed treatments for this patient group for over 30 years; and calls on NICE to reconsider its draft guidance for the benefit of patients with advanced melanoma, many of whom have young families.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 33

  1. Show:

    Click for glossary


    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 33 out of 33

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Benton, Joe Labour Party Bootle 02.11.2011
Brady, Graham Conservative Party Altrincham and Sale West 12.12.2011
Brooke, Annette Liberal Democrats Mid Dorset and North Poole 10.11.2011
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 08.11.2011
Connarty, Michael Labour Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 02.11.2011
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 08.11.2011
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 02.11.2011
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 02.11.2011
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 10.11.2011
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 08.11.2011
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 03.11.2011
Gilbert, Stephen Liberal Democrats St Austell and Newquay 02.11.2011
Goggins, Paul Labour Party Wythenshawe and Sale East 05.12.2011
Hamilton, Fabian Labour Party Leeds North East 02.11.2011
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 07.11.2011
Heyes, David Labour Party Ashton under Lyne 29.11.2011
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 02.11.2011
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 10.11.2011
Lloyd, Tony Labour Party Manchester Central 03.11.2011
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 08.11.2011
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 14.11.2011
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 02.11.2011
Meacher, Michael Labour Party Oldham West and Royton 21.11.2011
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 07.11.2011
Mudie, George Labour Party Leeds East 02.11.2011
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 09.11.2011
Rogerson, Dan Liberal Democrats North Cornwall 02.11.2011
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 02.11.2011
Sanders, Adrian Liberal Democrats Torbay 03.11.2011
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 14.11.2011
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 09.11.2011
Tredinnick, David Conservative Party Bosworth 09.11.2011
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 12.12.2011