Early day motion 1978

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House recognisesand supports the economic and social value of trade union representatives in the workplace; notes that there are over 200,000 lay union representatives in the UK; further notes that the union representatives in the public sector have been estimated by the Government to save between 167 million and 397 million every year in resolving or preventing disputes between the workforce and the employer, increasing the take up of training, reducing staff turnover and absences, as well as delivering annual productivity gains of up to 3.6 billion; further recognises that the cost of union representatives in the public sector is far outweighed by this resounding economic benefit and the positive impact on workplaceculture; further notes that union representatives are legally entitled to paid time off to carry out union duties; believes that the position of all employees and employers is improved by union representation; and calls on the Government to use the current review of employment law to reinforce the legal status of union representatives.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 62

  1. Show:

    Click for glossary


    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 62 out of 62

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Ainsworth, Bob Labour Party Coventry North East 12.10.2011
Allen, Graham Labour Party Nottingham North 11.07.2011
Ashworth, Jonathan Labour Party Leicester South 23.06.2011
Barron, Kevin Labour Party Rother Valley 14.07.2011
Blenkinsop, Tom Labour Party Middlesbrough South and East Cleveland 22.06.2011
Blomfield, Paul Labour Party Sheffield Central 14.07.2011
Burden, Richard Labour Party Birmingham Northfield 18.10.2011
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 29.06.2011
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 23.06.2011
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 18.07.2011
Cooper, Rosie Labour Party West Lancashire 05.09.2011
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 23.06.2011
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 22.06.2011
Creasy, Stella Labour Party Walthamstow 11.08.2011
Cryer, John Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 22.06.2011
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 05.07.2011
Cunningham, Tony Labour Party Workington 19.07.2011
Davidson, Ian Labour Party Glasgow South West 11.07.2011
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 27.06.2011
Doran, Frank Labour Party Aberdeen North 11.08.2011
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 23.06.2011
Engel, Natascha Labour Party North East Derbyshire 11.08.2011
Evans, Chris Labour Party Islwyn 12.09.2011
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 27.06.2011
Francis, Hywel Labour Party Aberavon 29.06.2011
Gapes, Mike Labour Party Ilford South 23.06.2011
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 29.06.2011
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 04.07.2011
Hamilton, Fabian Labour Party Leeds North East 11.08.2011
Havard, Dai Labour Party Merthyr Tydfil and Rhymney 18.01.2012
Heyes, David Labour Party Ashton under Lyne 18.07.2011
Hood, Jim Labour Party Lanark and Hamilton East 21.11.2011
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 23.06.2011
Howarth, George Labour Party Knowsley 11.07.2011
Hunt, Tristram Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent Central 15.09.2011
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Kilburn 27.06.2011
Jarvis, Dan Labour Party Barnsley Central 18.07.2011
Kaufman, Gerald Labour Party Manchester Gorton 11.07.2011
Lavery, Ian Labour Party Wansbeck 22.06.2011
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 30.06.2011
Lloyd, Tony Labour Party Manchester Central 29.06.2011
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 29.06.2011
Love, Andrew Labour Party Edmonton 22.06.2011
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 22.06.2011
McGovern, Alison Labour Party Wirral South 11.08.2011
McGovern, Jim Labour Party Dundee West 11.08.2011
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 28.06.2011
Morrice, Graeme Labour Party Livingston 28.06.2011
Murphy, Paul Labour Party Torfaen 28.06.2011
Nandy, Lisa Labour Party Wigan 22.06.2011
Qureshi, Yasmin Labour Party Bolton South East 29.06.2011
Riordan, Linda Labour Party Halifax 11.10.2011
Robertson, John Labour Party Glasgow North West 22.06.2011
Rotheram, Steve Labour Party Liverpool Walton 29.06.2011
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 22.06.2011
Sarwar, Anas Labour Party Glasgow Central 11.08.2011
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 28.06.2011
Sheridan, Jim Labour Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 22.06.2011
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 22.06.2011
Stringer, Graham Labour Party Blackley and Broughton 11.08.2011
Tami, Mark Labour Party Alyn and Deeside 05.09.2011
Walley, Joan Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent North 13.07.2011