Early day motion 2034

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House believes that staff working in HM Courts Service criminal fine collection service provide a valuable service; notes that their role is necessary as they help to enforce justice in relation to the collection of fines for criminal offences; further notes that this is of benefit to the national economy bringing in valuable revenue; further believes that the number of court enforcement officers has dropped from 561 in 2005 to 497 in 2009; further notes that the Ministry of Justice has proposed plans to privatise criminal court enforcement of fines; is opposed to any privatisation of the collection of fines; further believes that privatisation of the collection of fines will allow private companies to target the most lucrative areas and will then see the number of fines uncollected increase and consequently reduce the amount of money generated for the economy; and calls on the Government to keep the collection of unpaid criminal fines in the public sector.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 37

  1. Show:

    Click for glossary


    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 37 out of 37

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Abrahams, Debbie Labour Party Oldham East and Saddleworth 31.10.2011
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 11.01.2012
Blenkinsop, Tom Labour Party Middlesbrough South and East Cleveland 12.07.2011
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 06.07.2011
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 06.07.2011
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 13.07.2011
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 18.07.2011
Cunningham, Tony Labour Party Workington 09.11.2011
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 07.07.2011
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 06.07.2011
Farrelly, Paul Labour Party Newcastle-under-Lyme 10.10.2011
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 12.07.2011
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 07.07.2011
Gilmore, Sheila Labour Party Edinburgh East 21.02.2012
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 14.09.2011
Hamilton, Fabian Labour Party Leeds North East 11.08.2011
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 11.07.2011
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 06.07.2011
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Kilburn 07.07.2011
Lavery, Ian Labour Party Wansbeck 06.07.2011
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 14.07.2011
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 05.07.2011
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 05.09.2011
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 05.07.2011
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 06.07.2011
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 06.07.2011
Munt, Tessa Liberal Democrats Wells Somerset 07.09.2011
Nandy, Lisa Labour Party Wigan 05.09.2011
Nash, Pamela Labour Party Airdrie and Shotts 24.11.2011
Pearce, Teresa Labour Party Erith and Thamesmead 05.12.2011
Roy, Lindsay Labour Party Glenrothes 11.07.2011
Ruddock, Joan Labour Party Lewisham Deptford 21.11.2011
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 05.07.2011
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 10.10.2011
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Arfon 11.07.2011
Wood, Mike Labour Party Batley and Spen 10.10.2011
Wright, David Labour Party Telford 08.02.2012