Early day motion 752

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes with concern the tens of thousands of Tamils still interned in camps since the end of the Sri Lankan civil war in May 2009; further notes that thousands of people, including children, are suspected of being held in secret detention without charge or access to the outside world and are therefore at increased risk of torture and extrajudicial execution; strongly condemns the restrictions and attacks on journalists and human rights defenders, the draconian emergency regulations still in place, and thelack of progress towards an inclusive political solution; urges the Government to express its concerns and to do all it can to promote a lasting peace in Sri Lanka based on justice and reconciliation; calls on the UN Secretary-General to remain firm and give full support to his panel of experts; and further calls for a full and independent inquiry into alleged war crimes committed by all parties during and since the end of hostilities.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 47

  1. Show:

    Click for glossary


    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 47 out of 47

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Abbott, Diane Labour Party Hackney North and Stoke Newington 11.10.2010
Alexander, Heidi Labour Party Lewisham East 11.10.2010
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 16.09.2010
Brown, Russell Labour Party Dumfries and Galloway 14.10.2010
Bruce, Malcolm Liberal Democrats Gordon 01.11.2010
Burt, Lorely Liberal Democrats Solihull 11.10.2010
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 12.10.2010
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 13.10.2010
Creasy, Stella Labour Party Walthamstow 12.10.2010
Crockart, Mike Liberal Democrats Edinburgh West 19.10.2010
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 14.10.2010
Dakin, Nic Labour Party Scunthorpe 23.11.2010
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 11.10.2010
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 01.11.2010
Gapes, Mike Labour Party Ilford South 11.10.2010
Gardiner, Barry Labour Party Brent North 11.11.2010
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 16.09.2010
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 16.09.2010
Gwynne, Andrew Labour Party Denton and Reddish 13.10.2010
Halfon, Robert Conservative Party Harlow 11.10.2010
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 12.10.2010
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 01.11.2010
Henderson, Gordon Conservative Party Sittingbourne and Sheppey 13.10.2010
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 12.10.2010
Hughes, Simon Liberal Democrats Bermondsey and Old Southwark 15.09.2010
Kennedy, Charles Liberal Democrats Ross Skye and Lochaber 11.10.2010
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 12.10.2010
Lloyd, Stephen Liberal Democrats Eastbourne 27.10.2010
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 20.10.2010
Love, Andrew Labour Party Edmonton 11.10.2010
Mann, John Labour Party Bassetlaw 24.11.2010
McCarthy, Kerry Labour Party Bristol East 18.10.2010
McDonagh, Siobhain Labour Party Mitcham and Morden 18.10.2010
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 10.11.2010
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 16.09.2010
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 13.10.2010
Mowat, David Conservative Party Warrington South 18.10.2010
Munt, Tessa Liberal Democrats Wells Somerset 08.11.2010
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 12.10.2010
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 13.10.2010
Rosindell, Andrew Conservative Party Romford 18.10.2010
Ruddock, Joan Labour Party Lewisham Deptford 20.10.2010
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 13.10.2010
Slaughter, Andy Labour Party Hammersmith 12.10.2010
Vaz, Keith Labour Party Leicester East 11.10.2010
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 18.10.2010
Williams, Roger Liberal Democrats Brecon and Radnorshire 12.10.2010