Early day motion 2710

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House welcomes the steps taken by President Thein Sein to release some political prisoners, enter into ceasefire negotiations with armed ethnic groups and allow more political space in Burma; further welcomes the visit to Burma by the Foreign Secretary and his meeting with Daw Aung San Suu Kyi; expresses continued support for Daw Aung San Suu Kyi and the people of Burma in their ongoing efforts to secure human rights and democratic reform; notes with concern that hundreds of political prisoners remain in Burma's jails, and that there has been an increase in human rights abuses in ethnic states; further notes that reforms made so far have mostly not been enshrined in law and no constitutional changes have been made; believes that international pressure has played an important role in encouraging reforms so far; and calls on the Government to ensure that EU sanctions on Burma are not relaxed prematurely before substantially more political prisoners are released, conflict isended and there is an inclusive dialogue process to secure further and irreversible reform.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 31

  1. Show:

    Click for glossary


    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 31 out of 31

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 08.02.2012
Bruce, Fiona Conservative Party Congleton 08.02.2012
Campbell, Gregory Democratic Unionist Party Londonderry East 23.02.2012
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 23.02.2012
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 08.02.2012
Crockart, Mike Liberal Democrats Edinburgh West 23.02.2012
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 08.02.2012
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 08.02.2012
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 08.02.2012
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 20.02.2012
Havard, Dai Labour Party Merthyr Tydfil and Rhymney 27.02.2012
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 28.02.2012
Hepburn, Stephen Labour Party Jarrow 23.02.2012
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 21.02.2012
Howarth, George Labour Party Knowsley 21.02.2012
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Kilburn 08.02.2012
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 21.02.2012
Leigh, Edward Conservative Party Gainsborough 27.02.2012
Lewis, Julian Conservative Party New Forest East 08.02.2012
Lloyd, Tony Labour Party Manchester Central 23.02.2012
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 01.03.2012
MacNeil, Angus Scottish National Party Na h-Eileanan an Iar 20.02.2012
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 21.02.2012
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 23.02.2012
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 28.02.2012
Rogerson, Dan Liberal Democrats North Cornwall 21.02.2012
Roy, Lindsay Labour Party Glenrothes 23.02.2012
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 08.02.2012
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 21.02.2012
Walley, Joan Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent North 29.02.2012
Walter, Robert Conservative Party North Dorset 28.02.2012