Early day motion 2501

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes the widespread public concern about the extent of tax avoidance and evasion by individuals and corporations; further notes that while evasion is illegal, taxes can be avoided by schemes that are contrived in their nature or by arrangements that are artificial and thus far removed from the responsible tax planning measures provided for by Parliament; believes that the ever-growing expansion of anti-avoidance measures has not eliminated the scope for exploitation of loopholes; further notes the publication of the report by Graham Aaronson QC outlining the case for the introduction of a general anti-avoidance rule in the UK; and urges HM Treasury to bring forward legislation within the next Finance Bill for the introduction of such a rule.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 69

  1. Show:

    Click for glossary


    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 69 out of 69

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 08.12.2011
Barron, Kevin Labour Party Rother Valley 29.02.2012
Beith, Alan Liberal Democrats Berwick-Upon-Tweed 08.12.2011
Brake, Tom Liberal Democrats Carshalton and Wallington 01.12.2011
Brooke, Annette Liberal Democrats Mid Dorset and North Poole 01.12.2011
Bruce, Malcolm Liberal Democrats Gordon 15.12.2011
Burt, Lorely Liberal Democrats Solihull 01.12.2011
Campbell, Menzies Liberal Democrats North East Fife 29.02.2012
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 08.12.2011
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 14.12.2011
Connarty, Michael Labour Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 28.02.2012
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 08.12.2011
Crockart, Mike Liberal Democrats Edinburgh West 08.12.2011
Cunningham, Alex Labour Party Stockton North 29.02.2012
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 27.02.2012
Davidson, Ian Labour Party Glasgow South West 27.02.2012
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 08.12.2011
Donaldson, Jeffrey Democratic Unionist Party Lagan Valley 29.02.2012
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 05.12.2011
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 05.12.2011
Esterson, Bill Labour Party Sefton Central 29.02.2012
Farron, Tim Liberal Democrats Westmorland and Lonsdale 01.12.2011
Foster, Don Liberal Democrats Bath 08.12.2011
Gapes, Mike Labour Party Ilford South 23.02.2012
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 01.12.2011
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 23.02.2012
Hames, Duncan Liberal Democrats Chippenham 08.12.2011
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 06.12.2011
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 06.12.2011
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 08.12.2011
Horwood, Martin Liberal Democrats Cheltenham 12.12.2011
Howarth, George Labour Party Knowsley 29.02.2012
Hughes, Simon Liberal Democrats Bermondsey and Old Southwark 01.12.2011
Huppert, Julian Liberal Democrats Cambridge 06.12.2011
Kaufman, Gerald Labour Party Manchester Gorton 23.02.2012
Laws, David Liberal Democrats Yeovil 01.12.2011
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 06.12.2011
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 08.12.2011
Love, Andrew Labour Party Edmonton 08.12.2011
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 12.12.2011
McCabe, Steve Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 29.02.2012
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 08.12.2011
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 08.12.2011
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 08.12.2011
Mitchell, Austin Labour Party Great Grimsby 29.02.2012
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 13.12.2011
Mulholland, Greg Liberal Democrats Leeds North West 08.12.2011
Munt, Tessa Liberal Democrats Wells Somerset 15.12.2011
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 08.12.2011
Pugh, John Liberal Democrats Southport 01.12.2011
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 08.12.2011
Rogerson, Dan Liberal Democrats North Cornwall 12.12.2011
Rotheram, Steve Labour Party Liverpool Walton 08.12.2011
Roy, Lindsay Labour Party Glenrothes 19.01.2012
Ruddock, Joan Labour Party Lewisham Deptford 29.02.2012
Sanders, Adrian Liberal Democrats Torbay 05.12.2011
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 06.12.2011
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 08.12.2011
Stringer, Graham Labour Party Blackley and Broughton 27.02.2012
Swales, Ian Liberal Democrats Redcar 08.12.2011
Swinson, Jo Liberal Democrats East Dunbartonshire 06.12.2011
Tami, Mark Labour Party Alyn and Deeside 28.02.2012
Thurso, John Liberal Democrats Caithness Sutherland and Easter Ross 08.12.2011
Ward, David Liberal Democrats Bradford East 13.12.2011
Watts, Dave Labour Party St Helens North 28.02.2012
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 15.12.2011
Williams, Stephen Liberal Democrats Bristol West 01.12.2011
Willott, Jenny Liberal Democrats Cardiff Central 01.12.2011
Wood, Mike Labour Party Batley and Spen 14.12.2011