Early day motion 2379

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes the wealth of evidence showing that sprinkler systems installed in domestic properties reduce the risk of death and serious injury in the event of a fire as well as reduce the risk to firefighters attending such incidents; further notes that the downward trend of domestic fire deaths has begun to level off and numbers are likely to increase as a consequence of an ageing population; recognises that a modern approach is required to further reduce fatalities; congratulates the Chief Fire Officers' Association and others who seek to raise awareness of the effectiveness of sprinkler systems in reducing fire deaths and injury, reducing the amount of water used by firefighters to control a fire, reducing environmental damage caused by fire, and reducing the economic cost of fire; and calls on the Government to review the current regulations with regards to the installation of sprinkler systems in new residential premises to ensure appropriate evidence is considered including the international evidence and experience of sprinkler systems, the likely impact on fire risk of an ageing population, the impact of sprinkler systems on firefighters and the environmental impact of a reduction in the size of fires.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 84

  1. Show:

    Click for glossary


    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 84 out of 84

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Aldous, Peter Conservative Party Waveney 28.11.2011
Amess, David Conservative Party Southend West 03.11.2011
Bayley, Hugh Labour Party York Central 05.12.2011
Begg, Anne Labour Party Aberdeen South 27.02.2012
Blackman, Bob Conservative Party Harrow East 25.11.2011
Blackman-Woods, Roberta Labour Party City of Durham 20.12.2011
Brake, Tom Liberal Democrats Carshalton and Wallington 28.11.2011
Brooke, Annette Liberal Democrats Mid Dorset and North Poole 10.11.2011
Bruce, Fiona Conservative Party Congleton 30.11.2011
Campbell, Menzies Liberal Democrats North East Fife 28.02.2012
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 12.12.2011
Cash, William Conservative Party Stone 23.11.2011
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 08.11.2011
Connarty, Michael Labour Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 20.02.2012
Cooper, Rosie Labour Party West Lancashire 10.01.2012
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 08.11.2011
Cunningham, Tony Labour Party Workington 08.12.2011
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 07.11.2011
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 10.11.2011
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 08.11.2011
Ellman, Louise Labour Party Liverpool Riverside 29.11.2011
Evans, Chris Labour Party Islwyn 13.12.2011
Farrelly, Paul Labour Party Newcastle-under-Lyme 25.11.2011
Farron, Tim Liberal Democrats Westmorland and Lonsdale 24.11.2011
Field, Frank Labour Party Birkenhead 10.11.2011
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 10.11.2011
Gapes, Mike Labour Party Ilford South 22.11.2011
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 09.11.2011
Gilbert, Stephen Liberal Democrats St Austell and Newquay 15.11.2011
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 15.11.2011
Goggins, Paul Labour Party Wythenshawe and Sale East 05.12.2011
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 14.11.2011
Heyes, David Labour Party Ashton under Lyne 21.11.2011
Hood, Jim Labour Party Lanark and Hamilton East 27.02.2012
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 09.11.2011
Jenkin, Bernard Conservative Party Harwich and Essex North 30.11.2011
Kaufman, Gerald Labour Party Manchester Gorton 28.11.2011
Kirby, Simon Conservative Party Brighton Kemptown 03.11.2011
Laing, Eleanor Conservative Party Epping Forest 30.11.2011
Lazarowicz, Mark Labour Party Edinburgh North and Leith 25.11.2011
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 21.11.2011
Lewis, Julian Conservative Party New Forest East 22.11.2011
Lloyd, Stephen Liberal Democrats Eastbourne 06.12.2011
Lloyd, Tony Labour Party Manchester Central 08.11.2011
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 08.11.2011
Long, Naomi Alliance Party Belfast East 05.12.2011
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 14.12.2011
Mann, John Labour Party Bassetlaw 22.11.2011
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 14.11.2011
McGovern, Alison Labour Party Wirral South 24.11.2011
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 07.11.2011
Michael, Alun Labour Party Cardiff South and Penarth 03.11.2011
Miller, Andrew Labour Party Ellesmere Port and Neston 30.11.2011
Mitchell, Austin Labour Party Great Grimsby 01.12.2011
Morden, Jessica Labour Party Newport East 15.12.2011
Morrice, Graeme Labour Party Livingston 06.12.2011
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 21.11.2011
Mudie, George Labour Party Leeds East 23.02.2012
Mulholland, Greg Liberal Democrats Leeds North West 12.12.2011
Murphy, Paul Labour Party Torfaen 23.11.2011
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 20.02.2012
Owen, Albert Labour Party Ynys Môn 30.11.2011
Pugh, John Liberal Democrats Southport 09.11.2011
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 09.11.2011
Rogerson, Dan Liberal Democrats North Cornwall 21.11.2011
Rotheram, Steve Labour Party Liverpool Walton 07.11.2011
Roy, Lindsay Labour Party Glenrothes 23.11.2011
Ruane, Chris Labour Party Vale of Clwyd 03.11.2011
Ruddock, Joan Labour Party Lewisham Deptford 01.12.2011
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 08.11.2011
Sanders, Adrian Liberal Democrats Torbay 08.11.2011
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 08.11.2011
Sheridan, Jim Labour Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 23.02.2012
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 09.11.2011
Stuart, Graham Conservative Party Beverley and Holderness 15.12.2011
Tami, Mark Labour Party Alyn and Deeside 29.11.2011
Vaz, Keith Labour Party Leicester East 05.12.2011
Vickers, Martin Conservative Party Cleethorpes 08.12.2011
Walley, Joan Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent North 23.11.2011
Watts, Dave Labour Party St Helens North 10.11.2011
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 22.11.2011
Wood, Mike Labour Party Batley and Spen 05.12.2011
Woodward, Shaun Labour Party St Helen's South and Whiston 29.11.2011
Yeo, Tim Conservative Party South Suffolk 05.12.2011