Early day motion 2730

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House supports the End the Big Six Energy Fix campaign aimed at ending energy profiteering by British Gas, EDF, E.ON, npower, Scottish Power and Scottish and Southern Energy; notes that in the first six months of 2011 alone the Big Six energy companies posted profits of around 3.5 billion and that in October 2011 Ofgem revealed profit margins for the energy suppliers increased by 733 per cent. in some circumstances; further notes that average household bills have doubled in the past six years from around 600 a year in 2004 to more than 1,200 a year today; is appalled that the UK now has more than 5.5 million households hit by fuel poverty leading to an estimated 3,000 premature winter deaths; therefore calls on the Government to tackle the predatory behaviour of thebig energy companies by introducing a new windfall levy on their profits with revenues used to ensure that every home is insulated and highly energy efficient; urges Ofgem to seriously consider re-introducing a cap on prices to prevent energy companies from passing the cost of any levy on to customers; and further calls on the Government to launch an urgent public inquiry into the Big Six energy companies.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 60

  1. Show:

    Click for glossary


    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 60 out of 60

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Alexander, Heidi Labour Party Lewisham East 23.02.2012
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 23.02.2012
Betts, Clive Labour Party Sheffield South East 23.02.2012
Blunkett, David Labour Party Sheffield Brightside and Hillsborough 20.02.2012
Brooke, Annette Liberal Democrats Mid Dorset and North Poole 27.02.2012
Burden, Richard Labour Party Birmingham Northfield 01.03.2012
Campbell, Gregory Democratic Unionist Party Londonderry East 23.02.2012
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 23.02.2012
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 23.02.2012
Clarke, Tom Labour Party Coatbridge Chryston and Bellshill 21.02.2012
Connarty, Michael Labour Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 28.02.2012
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 23.02.2012
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 28.02.2012
Cryer, John Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 27.02.2012
Cunningham, Alex Labour Party Stockton North 29.02.2012
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 27.02.2012
Davidson, Ian Labour Party Glasgow South West 27.02.2012
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 21.02.2012
Doran, Frank Labour Party Aberdeen North 23.02.2012
Dowd, Jim Labour Party Lewisham West and Penge 28.02.2012
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 20.02.2012
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 21.02.2012
Ellman, Louise Labour Party Liverpool Riverside 28.02.2012
Esterson, Bill Labour Party Sefton Central 29.02.2012
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 21.02.2012
Francis, Hywel Labour Party Aberavon 23.02.2012
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 21.02.2012
Hamilton, Fabian Labour Party Leeds North East 29.02.2012
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 21.02.2012
Havard, Dai Labour Party Merthyr Tydfil and Rhymney 27.02.2012
Hepburn, Stephen Labour Party Jarrow 23.02.2012
Heyes, David Labour Party Ashton under Lyne 27.02.2012
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 21.02.2012
Howarth, George Labour Party Knowsley 29.02.2012
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Kilburn 21.02.2012
Kennedy, Charles Liberal Democrats Ross Skye and Lochaber 23.02.2012
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 27.02.2012
Lloyd, Tony Labour Party Manchester Central 23.02.2012
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 21.02.2012
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 20.02.2012
Malhotra, Seema Labour Party Feltham and Heston 29.02.2012
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 28.02.2012
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 29.02.2012
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 21.02.2012
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 21.02.2012
Morrice, Graeme Labour Party Livingston 23.02.2012
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 29.02.2012
Mulholland, Greg Liberal Democrats Leeds North West 23.02.2012
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 29.02.2012
Qureshi, Yasmin Labour Party Bolton South East 23.02.2012
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 28.02.2012
Rotheram, Steve Labour Party Liverpool Walton 29.02.2012
Roy, Lindsay Labour Party Glenrothes 23.02.2012
Ruddock, Joan Labour Party Lewisham Deptford 28.02.2012
Sanders, Adrian Liberal Democrats Torbay 20.02.2012
Sheridan, Jim Labour Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 23.02.2012
Swales, Ian Liberal Democrats Redcar 28.02.2012
Tami, Mark Labour Party Alyn and Deeside 28.02.2012
Walley, Joan Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent North 29.02.2012
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 29.02.2012