Early day motion 2627

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes the OECD and G20's identification of the role of tax havens by wealthy corporations in fuelling the global economic crisis from 2009 onwards; is alarmed by reports that US former Massachusetts Governor Mitt Romnney is also using the Cayman Islands, a British territory, to avoid paying the same tax rate as other US citizens; is concerned about the continued use of tax havens by the top one per cent. in the US and UK to avoid paying the correct tax in their own country, particularly at a time when living standards are being squeezed and services lost for ordinary people in many Western economies; and calls on the Government to introduce urgent legislation to help close tax havens and increase transparency so that the very rich pay their fair share of tax in their respective countries and enable governments worldwide to invest more in jobs and growth.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 28

  1. Show:

    Click for glossary


    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 28 out of 28

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 25.01.2012
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 24.01.2012
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 20.01.2012
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 20.01.2012
Cryer, John Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 20.01.2012
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 24.01.2012
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 23.01.2012
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 24.01.2012
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 31.01.2012
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 20.01.2012
Lavery, Ian Labour Party Wansbeck 24.01.2012
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 25.01.2012
Love, Andrew Labour Party Edmonton 24.01.2012
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 25.01.2012
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 25.01.2012
Mitchell, Austin Labour Party Great Grimsby 20.01.2012
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 20.01.2012
Mudie, George Labour Party Leeds East 24.01.2012
Pearce, Teresa Labour Party Erith and Thamesmead 20.01.2012
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 25.01.2012
Rotheram, Steve Labour Party Liverpool Walton 23.01.2012
Roy, Lindsay Labour Party Glenrothes 20.02.2012
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 24.01.2012
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 25.01.2012
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 23.01.2012
Weir, Mike Scottish National Party Angus 25.01.2012
Williams, Stephen Liberal Democrats Bristol West 25.01.2012
Wright, Simon Liberal Democrats Norwich South 06.02.2012