Early day motion 2661

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes that large supermarkets sell bread at a price which is below cost in order to attract customers; believes that this practice passes on the risks and costs to suppliers and is detrimental to the working conditions of those working in the baking industry; is concerned that the shifting of cost to suppliers means that wages are driven down; further believes that this has a negative impact on the consumer as small retailers are driven out of business; supports the introduction of a Groceries Code Adjudicator Bill; and further believes that the Adjudicator should have the power to launch investigations based on credible evidence from third parties such as the union representing workers in the baking industry, the Bakers, Food and Allied Workers Union.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 37

  1. Show:

    Click for glossary


    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 37 out of 37

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 30.01.2012
Beith, Alan Liberal Democrats Berwick-Upon-Tweed 07.02.2012
Burt, Lorely Liberal Democrats Solihull 20.02.2012
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 01.02.2012
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 31.01.2012
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 30.01.2012
Connarty, Michael Labour Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 02.02.2012
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 31.01.2012
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 30.01.2012
Davidson, Ian Labour Party Glasgow South West 28.02.2012
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 31.01.2012
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 31.01.2012
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 31.01.2012
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 02.02.2012
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 20.02.2012
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 28.02.2012
Heyes, David Labour Party Ashton under Lyne 06.02.2012
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 01.02.2012
Lavery, Ian Labour Party Wansbeck 30.01.2012
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 07.02.2012
Lloyd, Tony Labour Party Manchester Central 06.02.2012
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 01.02.2012
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 23.02.2012
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 29.02.2012
McDonnell, John [R] Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 30.01.2012
McGovern, Jim Labour Party Dundee West 08.02.2012
Meacher, Michael Labour Party Oldham West and Royton 20.02.2012
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 31.01.2012
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 02.02.2012
Owen, Albert Labour Party Ynys Môn 08.02.2012
Pugh, John Liberal Democrats Southport 01.02.2012
Qureshi, Yasmin Labour Party Bolton South East 23.02.2012
Riordan, Linda Labour Party Halifax 30.01.2012
Rotheram, Steve Labour Party Liverpool Walton 07.02.2012
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 01.02.2012
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 31.01.2012
Wood, Mike Labour Party Batley and Spen 20.02.2012