Early day motion 2544

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House welcomes the recommendation by the Environmental Audit Committee in its July 2011 report Budget 2011 and Environmental Taxes that `the Government should consider providing tax incentives, such as a council tax rebate or stamp duty discount, in next year's Budget to support the take-up of the Green Deal'; further welcomes too the commitment in Budget 2011 to `act to incentivise take-up of the Green Deal before it is introduced in 2012'; notes that the existing reduced rate offive per cent. VAT for energy-saving products excludes energy efficient boilers and windows and passive flue gas heat recovery systems; is concerned that the Landlords' Energy Saving Allowance (LESA) is claimed by less than 0.2 per cent. of UK landlords; therefore calls on the Government to introduce in Budget 2012 a package of fiscal incentives to encourage householders and landlords to install energy efficiency measures, to include afive per cent. VAT rate on all flue heat recovery installations and alsoon `A' rated boilers and `B' rated windows installed by Green Deal-accredited installers, a stamp duty rebate for purchasers making energy efficiency improvements to their home and an extended and increased LESA to incentivise early improvements in the private rented sector before the introduction of the minimum energy efficiency standard; and further calls for an early consultation on a revised system of Council Tax banding that reflects the energy efficiency rating of properties, accompanied by mechanisms to enable low income households to make improvements at low or no cost.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 69

  1. Show:

    Click for glossary


    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 69 out of 69

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Aldous, Peter Conservative Party Waveney 14.12.2011
Amess, David Conservative Party Southend West 18.01.2012
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 30.01.2012
Banks, Gordon Labour Party Ochil and South Perthshire 18.01.2012
Beith, Alan Liberal Democrats Berwick-Upon-Tweed 30.01.2012
Betts, Clive Labour Party Sheffield South East 26.01.2012
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 15.12.2011
Brake, Tom Liberal Democrats Carshalton and Wallington 20.02.2012
Burt, Lorely Liberal Democrats Solihull 20.01.2012
Campbell, Menzies Liberal Democrats North East Fife 24.01.2012
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 14.12.2011
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 10.01.2012
Connarty, Michael Labour Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 08.02.2012
Cooper, Rosie Labour Party West Lancashire 20.02.2012
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 15.12.2011
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 11.01.2012
Crockart, Mike Liberal Democrats Edinburgh West 17.01.2012
Cryer, John Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 10.01.2012
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 10.01.2012
Doran, Frank Labour Party Aberdeen North 18.01.2012
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 23.01.2012
Ellman, Louise Labour Party Liverpool Riverside 24.01.2012
Field, Frank Labour Party Birkenhead 24.01.2012
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 30.01.2012
Foster, Don Liberal Democrats Bath 07.02.2012
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 25.01.2012
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 20.12.2011
Henderson, Gordon Conservative Party Sittingbourne and Sheppey 24.01.2012
Hepburn, Stephen Labour Party Jarrow 31.01.2012
Heyes, David Labour Party Ashton under Lyne 30.01.2012
Hood, Jim Labour Party Lanark and Hamilton East 30.01.2012
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 15.12.2011
Horwood, Martin Liberal Democrats Cheltenham 14.12.2011
Howarth, George Labour Party Knowsley 01.02.2012
Huppert, Julian Liberal Democrats Cambridge 20.02.2012
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Kilburn 20.12.2011
Kennedy, Charles Liberal Democrats Ross Skye and Lochaber 20.02.2012
Lavery, Ian Labour Party Wansbeck 15.12.2011
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 14.12.2011
Lloyd, Tony Labour Party Manchester Central 20.12.2011
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 30.01.2012
Long, Naomi Alliance Party Belfast East 26.01.2012
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 10.01.2012
Mann, John Labour Party Bassetlaw 24.01.2012
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 20.12.2011
Meacher, Michael Labour Party Oldham West and Royton 06.02.2012
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 15.12.2011
Miller, Andrew Labour Party Ellesmere Port and Neston 30.01.2012
Mudie, George Labour Party Leeds East 08.02.2012
Munt, Tessa Liberal Democrats Wells Somerset 23.01.2012
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 31.01.2012
Qureshi, Yasmin Labour Party Bolton South East 01.02.2012
Riordan, Linda Labour Party Halifax 29.02.2012
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 06.02.2012
Robertson, John Labour Party Glasgow North West 31.01.2012
Rogerson, Dan Liberal Democrats North Cornwall 26.01.2012
Ruddock, Joan Labour Party Lewisham Deptford 25.01.2012
Sanders, Adrian Liberal Democrats Torbay 23.01.2012
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 10.01.2012
Swales, Ian Liberal Democrats Redcar 01.02.2012
Thurso, John Liberal Democrats Caithness Sutherland and Easter Ross 25.01.2012
Vickers, Martin Conservative Party Cleethorpes 02.02.2012
Walley, Joan Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent North 24.01.2012
Ward, David Liberal Democrats Bradford East 25.01.2012
Watts, Dave Labour Party St Helens North 30.01.2012
Whitehead, Alan Labour Party Southampton Test 14.12.2011
Williams, Stephen Liberal Democrats Bristol West 29.02.2012
Wood, Mike Labour Party Batley and Spen 25.01.2012
Yeo, Tim Conservative Party South Suffolk 14.12.2011