Early day motion 2216

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House supports Taiwan's continued efforts to participate in the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC) and the International Civil Aviation Organisation (ICAO); commends the fact that the European Parliament unanimously passed a resolution on 11 May 2011 reiterating its support for Taiwan's meaningful participation as an observer in relevant international organisations, such as the UNFCCC, World Health Organisation and ICAO; recognises that Taiwan is a key transport hub in international air travel, serving more than one million flights and 40 million passengers per year; notes that Taiwan suffers unnecessary obstacles in terms of remaining up to date with the latest ICAO standards and procedures as a result of its exclusion, which leads to risks to international aviation safety; further recognises that, being deeply integrated in the global economy, Taiwan both contributes to and is affected by global warming; acknowledges that Taiwan can contribute to and benefit from global coordination against climate change via participation in the UNFCCC; and calls on the Government to support efforts for Taiwan to be invited to participate in the meetings and activities of ICAO and UNFCCC as an observer.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 11

  1. Show:

    Click for glossary


    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 11 out of 11

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Amess, David Conservative Party Southend West 10.10.2011
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 11.10.2011
Brady, Graham Conservative Party Altrincham and Sale West 01.11.2011
Cooper, Rosie Labour Party West Lancashire 21.11.2011
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 10.10.2011
Dowd, Jim Labour Party Lewisham West and Penge 02.11.2011
Hancock, Mike [R] Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 10.10.2011
Rosindell, Andrew Conservative Party Romford 10.10.2011
Roy, Frank Labour Party Motherwell and Wishaw 01.11.2011
Sarwar, Anas Labour Party Glasgow Central 07.11.2011
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 11.10.2011