Liaison Committee - role

The Committee is appointed to consider general matters relating to the work of select committees; to advise the House of Commons Commission on select committees; to choose select committee reports for debate in the House and, by a decision of the House on 14 May 2002, to hear evidence from the Prime Minister on matters of public policy.

The National Policy Statements Sub-Committee comprises the Chairs of the Communities & Local Government, Energy & Climate Change, Environment, Food & Rural Affairs, Transport and Welsh Affairs committees and two other members of the Liaison Committee. Its role is to decide which committee should scrutinise each proposal for a National Policy Statement made by the government under the Planning Act 2008. It may also consider matters relating to NPSs generally. Its membership is as follows:
Sir Alan Beith (Chair) (Justice Committee; added member) (Liberal Democrat)
Mr Clive Betts (Communities and Local Government Committee) (Labour)
David TC Davies (Welsh Affairs Committee) (Conservative)
Mrs Louise Ellman (Transport Committee) (Labour)
Miss Anne McIntosh (Environment, Food and Rural Affairs Committee) (Conservative)
Joan Walley (Environmental Audit Committee; added member) (Labour)
Tim Yeo (Energy and Climate Change Committee) (Conservative)

The powers of the Committee are set out in House of Commons Standing Order No.145