Early day motion 2781

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House regrets the plans of the House of Commons Commission to create an admission charge of 15.00 for Big Ben tours; notes that if fees increase in July 2012 as planned, it will cost a family of four 60 to visit the Big Ben Clock Tower; believes that this undermines the basic principle of British democracy, that this is a people's parliament, open freely to its citizens; further believes there must surely be other ways of saving money, such as publishing Hansard and business papers online; and therefore urges the House of Commons Commission to think again, to scrap the fees and to make sure that this remains a parliament for the many, not the few.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 20

  1. Show:

    Click for glossary


    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 20 out of 20

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Bayley, Hugh Labour Party York Central 29.02.2012
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 28.02.2012
Campbell, Gregory Democratic Unionist Party Londonderry East 29.02.2012
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 29.02.2012
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 28.02.2012
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 01.03.2012
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 28.02.2012
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 29.02.2012
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 01.03.2012
Halfon, Robert Conservative Party Harlow 27.02.2012
Hepburn, Stephen Labour Party Jarrow 29.02.2012
Jackson, Stewart Conservative Party Peterborough 29.02.2012
Lloyd, Tony Labour Party Manchester Central 28.02.2012
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 28.02.2012
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 28.02.2012
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 29.02.2012
Rotheram, Steve Labour Party Liverpool Walton 29.02.2012
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 29.02.2012
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 29.02.2012
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 01.03.2012