Early day motion 2792

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes that 29 February 2012 is the 80th anniversary of the BBC World Service; believes that the BBCWorld Service provides a service which is second to none internationally; supports the valuable work done by journalists at the BBC World Service who are working in difficult and sometimes hostile environments; further believes that the BBC World Service provides a lifeline for people in many countries; further notes that the BBC World Service reports in the Middle East and North Africa have provided a source of unbiased news to many; and further believes that funding should be provided to the BBC World Service in order to enable it to carry out its role as a world class broadcasting network.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 25

  1. Show:

    Click for glossary


    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 25 out of 25

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Bayley, Hugh Labour Party York Central 29.02.2012
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 29.02.2012
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 29.02.2012
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 01.03.2012
Cryer, John Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 28.02.2012
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 29.02.2012
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 29.02.2012
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 28.02.2012
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 28.02.2012
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 01.03.2012
Halfon, Robert Conservative Party Harlow 28.02.2012
Hepburn, Stephen Labour Party Jarrow 29.02.2012
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Kilburn 01.03.2012
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 01.03.2012
Lloyd, Tony Labour Party Manchester Central 01.03.2012
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 29.02.2012
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 28.02.2012
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 29.02.2012
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 29.02.2012
Riordan, Linda Labour Party Halifax 29.02.2012
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 01.03.2012
Rotheram, Steve Labour Party Liverpool Walton 29.02.2012
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 29.02.2012
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 29.02.2012
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 29.02.2012