Earl of Selborne

John Palmer

John Palmer



Address as

Lord Selborne

Contact details


House of Lords, London, SW1A 0PW
Tel: 020 7219 6171


Lords career

Succeeded the Peerage 1971; First entered House of Lords 1972; Elected hereditary peer 1999-

Councils, public bodies

Member, Apple and Pear Development Council 1969-73; Chair: Hops Marketing Board 1978-82, Agricultural and Food Research Council 1982-89; DL, Hampshire 1982; President: Royal Agricultural Society of England 1987-88, Royal Institute of Public Health and Hygiene 1991-97; Chair, Joint Nature Conservation Committee 1991-97; Member: NEDC Food Sector Group 1991-92, Royal Commission on Environmental Pollution 1993-98; President, Royal Geographical Society (with the Institute of British Geographers) 1997-2000; Chair, Foundation for Science and Technology 2006-

International bodies

World Commission on the Ethics of Science and Technology, UNESCO 1999-2003

Political interests

Science, agriculture, education, conservation

Register of Interests

1: Directorships

Blackmoor Estate Ltd (farming)

2: Remunerated employment, office, profession etc.

Mercers Company (a London City Livery Company)

Chair, Living with Environmental Change Partners Board

Chairman, Thames Tunnel Commission 2011

The Member received a fee from Hammersmith and Fulham Borough Council in respect of his membership of the Thames Tunnel Commission. The fee was paid to him via Blackmoor Estate Ltd (see category 1)

4: Shareholdings (b)

Blackmoor Estate Ltd (farming)

Anglo American plc (mining and natural resources)

Prudential plc (financial services group)

Rio Tinto plc (mining)

Royal Dutch Shell plc (energy/oil)

Scottish Mortgage Investment Trust

7: Overseas visits

Visit to Rothera Research Station, British Antarctic Territory, 3-11 January 2011; return air fare partly funded and accommodation at Rothera fully funded by British Antarctic Survey

10: Non-financial interests (b)

Governor, Sandwell Academy

10: Non-financial interests (e)

Trustee, Parliamentary Science and Technology Information Foundation

Chairman, Rank Prize Funds

Chairman, Foundation for Science and Technology