Lord MacGregor of Pulham Market

John MacGregor

John MacGregor



Address as

Lord MacGregor

Contact details


House of Lords, London, SW1A 0PW
Tel: 020 7219 4439


Electoral history

MP (Conservative) for South Norfolk February 1974-2001

Parliamentary career

Opposition Whip 1977-79; Government Whip 1979-81; Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State for Industry 1981-83; Minister of State, Ministry of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food 1983-85; Chief Secretary to the Treasury 1985-87; Minister of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food 1987-89; Secretary of State for Education and Science 1989-90; Lord President of the Council and Leader of the House of Commons 1990-92; Secretary of State for Transport 1992-94

Party groups

Chair, Young Conservative External Relations Committee 1959-62; First President, Conservative and Christian Democratic Youth Community 1965; President, South Norfolk Conservative Association 2007-; Vice-chair, Association of Conservative Peers 2010-

Councils, public bodies

Council member, Institute of Directors 1995-2007; Vice-President, Association of County Councils 1995-97; Trustee, Foundation of Business Responsibilities 1996-2004; Conservative nominee, Committee on Standards in Public Life 1997-2003; Deputy chair, Governing Bodies Association (now Association of Governing Bodies of Independent Schools) 1998-2006; Member, Independent Schools Council 1998-2005; Norwich Cathedral: High Steward, Chair of Cathedral Council; Chair, St Andrew's (Ecumenical) Trust

Political interests

Economic and financial matters, agriculture, education, industry, housing, countryside

Countries of interest

EU countries, USA

Name, style and title

Raised to the peerage as Baron MacGregor of Pulham Market, of Pulham Market in the County of Norfolk 2001

Register of Interests

2: Remunerated employment, office, profession etc.

Chairman, British Energy Pension Fund Trustees

Chairman, Eggborough Power Ltd Pension Fund Trustees

Chairman, Anglian Water Group Pension Fund Trustees

10: Non-financial interests (b)

High Steward, Norwich Cathedral and Chairman, Cathedral Council

10: Non-financial interests (e)

Chairman, St Andrew's (Ecumenical) Trust

President, Norfolk Association of Village Halls