Baroness James of Holland Park

Phyllis James

Phyllis James



Address as

Baroness James

Contact details


House of Lords, London, SW1A 0PW
Tel: 020 7219 5353


Councils, public bodies

JP, Willesden and Inner London 1979-84; Governor, BBC 1988-93; Member, Arts Council 1988-92, Chair, Literature Advisory Panel 1988-92; Board member, British Council 1988-93

Political interests

Literature, arts, criminal justice, broadcasting

Name, style and title

Raised to the peerage as Baroness James of Holland Park, of Southwold in the County of Suffolk 1991

Register of Interests

4: Shareholdings (b)

Coutts Fund Managers US Equity Index Programme S2

Coutts Fund Managers US Specialist Equity Programme S2

Coutts Fund Managers Pacific Basin Equity Programme S2

Coutts Fund Managers Continental European Equity Index Programme S2

Coutts Fund Managers Emerging Markets Equity Fund S2

Coutts Fund Managers Japan Specialist Equity Programme S2

JP Morgan American Investment Trust Ord 25p

Coutts Continental European Specialist Equity Programme S2

Schroder Asia Pacific Fund Ord GBP 0.10

Ishares FTSE 250 Fund

Orbita Capital Return Strategy USD Class A

Orbita Asian Growth Strategy USD Class A

Orbita Global Opportunities Strategy USD Class A

Anglo American (mining and natural resources)

AstraZeneca (pharmaceuticals)

BAE Systems (defence, security and aerospace)

BG Group (natural gas)

BP (global energy)

Barclays (banking)

BHP Billiton plc (natural resources)

Cairn Energy plc (oil and gas exploration)

Diageo (drinks)

GlaxoSmithKline plc (healthcare)

HSBC Holdings (banking)

Reckitt Benckiser Group plc (household, health and personal care)

Rio Tinto (mining and exploration)

Royal Dutch Shell (oil and gas industry)

Serco Group (business services)

Smith and Nephew (healthcare)

Standard Chartered plc (banking)

Tesco (retail)

Vodafone Group (communications)

Xstrata plc (mining)

5: Land and property

Flat in West London

Flat in East London

10: Non-financial interests (c)

Committee Member, Costa Literary Prize

10: Non-financial interests (d)

President, Society of Authors