Baroness Fookes

Janet Fookes

Janet Fookes



Address as

Baroness Fookes

Contact details


House of Lords, London, SW1A 0PW
Tel: 020 7219 5899
Fax: 020 7219 1465


Electoral history

MP (Conservative) for Merton and Morden 1970-74, for Plymouth Drake 1974-97

Parliamentary career

Deputy Speaker and Second Deputy Chairman of Ways and Means 1992-97; Sponsored as Private Member's Bill: Sexual Offences Act 1985, Dangerous Dogs Act 1989

Lords career

Member, Armed Forces Parliamentary Scheme 2001-; Deputy Chair of Committees 2002-; Deputy Speaker 2002-; Contested Lord Speaker election 2006

Select committees

Chair: Education, Arts and Home Affairs sub-committee 1975-79; Member: Panel of Chairs 1976-92, Home Affairs 1984-92

Councils, public bodies

County Borough of Hastings: Councillor 1960-61, 1963-70, Chair, Education Committee 1967-70

Political interests

Health including mental health, defence, animal welfare, equal opportunities

Countries of interest

Canada, New Zealand

Name, style and title

Raised to the peerage as Baroness Fookes, of Plymouth in the County of Devon 1997

Register of Interests

10: Non-financial interests (b)

Member, Board of Governors, Kelly College, Tavistock

10: Non-financial interests (e)

Chairman, Vincent Lines Memorial Trust

Chairman, Welfare Fund for Companion Animals

Member, Council of Management of UK-Canada Colloquium

President & Trustee, League of Friends of Royal Eye Infirmary, Plymouth

President, SSAFA Forces Help (Sussex branch)

President, NSPCC (Hastings, Bexhill, Rye & District branch)

President, Friends of Derriford Hospital Kidney Unit

President, Chiropractic Patients' Association

President, War Widows Association of Great Britain

President, RSPCA (Plymouth & District Branch)

Vice President, Plymouth & District Leukaemia Fund

Vice President, RSPCA (nationally)

Vice President, SSAFA Forces Help (nationally)

Vice President, Stars Foundation for Cerebral Palsy (formerly SOS)

President, 1066 Branch, English Speaking Union

Chairman, Millennium Committee of the Fellowship of St Nicholas