How many winners are selected?

Four schools will win a Speaker's School Council Award, one for each of the four age categories. The four winners will be selected from a short-list of twenty finalists. Every school that takes the time to tell us about a project, however, will receive a certificate endorsed by the Speaker of the House of Commons.

What are the most important criteria for winning an award?

Our judging panel have a tough task in selecting a short-list and, ultimately, the winners. However, they are particularly looking for school council projects and initiatives that:

  • were student-led
  • made a difference in your school or community

Resources to help you get started:

Creating a project (PDF 319KB)
Planning A Project Part one (PDF 221KB)
Planning A Project Part two (PDF 361KB)
Planning A Project Part three (PDF 304KB)
Getting ideas and choosing your project
Planning your project

What kinds of projects have won in the past?

Lots of different sorts of projects have been past winners, from introducing pets into the classroom to installing solar panels onto a school sports hall. Have a closer look at some of the past Speaker's School Council Award winners.

Do larger, more expensive projects have an advantage?

No. A diverse range of projects - both large and small - are entered every year. Different sized projects have been named finalists or winners.

Browse the diverse range of projects that have been completed over the past few years.

Once we submit our entry form, how is it assessed?

Each entry receives an initial ranking based on your answers to the 'tick box' elements of your application. Then we take the top-scoring entries and spend several weeks evaluating the written sections of your application to come up with a short list of 20 finalists. The short list of finalists then goes before the Speaker’s School Council Awards judging panel.

Who does the final judging?

Once the short list is established, the judging panel is led by the Speaker of the House of Commons, John Bercow MP. It’s made up of student voice experts, school councillors, officials from Parliament’s Education Service as well as Members of Parliament.

Last year the judging panel included:

  • Speaker of the House of Commons, Rt Hon John Bercow MP
  • Sir Keith Ajegbo, citizenship specialist
  • Jo Swinson MP, East Dunbartonshire
  • Sema, Year 8, Quintin Kynaston School
  • Albion, Year 9, Quintin Kynaston School
  • Tom O’Leary, Head of Education and Public Engagement, Houses of Parliament
  • Dr Emma-Jane Watchorn, Parliament’s Education Service Manager

Who runs the Speaker's School Council Awards?

The team that runs the Speaker's School Council Awards are part of Parliament's Education Service. We organise the competition on behalf of the Speaker of the House of Commons.

Message from the Speaker