The House of Commons Administration explained

The House of Commons is governed and managed by a group of MPs who make up the House of Commons Commission. The day to day running of the House is delegated to senior officials on the House of Commons Management Board.

The House of Commons Commission

At the head of the governance structure is the House of Commons Commission.  It is chaired by the Speaker of the House of Commons, a sitting MP elected to the position of Speaker through a ballot of all MPs.  The other members are the Leader of the House, the Shadow Leader (or another MP appointed by the Opposition) and three backbench MPs from the three largest parties. The Commission is legally responsible, under the House of Commons Administration Act 1978, for the administration of the House of Commons, including staff and finance. The Commission signs off the annual budget and approves all major changes to the House of Commons Service.

The Commission is advised by two committees of MPs, the Finance and Services Committee, which acts as an arm of the Commission, and the Administration Committee, which acts as a channel of communication from MPs in general. Members of the Commission also sit on the Members Estimate Committee, which considers MPs’ expenses, but that function has largely been transferred to the Independent Parliamentary Standards Authority.

The Commission provides the non-executive governance of the House by Members, but it does not manage day to day operations. It has delegated this power to the senior officials who make up the House of Commons Management Board.

The House of Commons Management Board

The Management Board oversees the operational functions of the House and develops the House’s policies and strategic planning to be endorsed by the Commission. The Chief Executive, who is also the Clerk of the House of Commons, chairs the Management Board. The other members are the heads of the five departments of the House, the Director of Parliamentary ICT (a bicameral department serving both the House of Commons and Lords) and an external member appointed through open competition.

Below the Management Board are the five departments, which make up the House of Commons Service. These are Chamber and Committee Services, Facilities, Finance, HR and Change, and Information Services. Parliamentary ICT also reports to the Management Board. The Chief Executive has his own office, the Office of the Chief Executive, which sits outside the departmental structure and supports the Management Board through functions such as strategic and business planning, risk management, internal communications and internal audit.

Both the Commission/Members Estimate Committee and the Management Board are advised by the House’s two Audit Committees: the Administration Estimate Audit Committee and the Members Estimate Audit Committee.